Welcome to Librarium Online!
What is the purpose of aquatic? My friend said it allows his skinks to go through marsh, lakes etc without any penalties. But since they are skirmishers they get this benfit anyway right? Same with salamanders they are skirmishers so ignore penalties for marsh movement.
urm no rivers lakes marshes will still halve their movement as even skirmishers cannot move around or over water . . . so aquatic is needed for them to cross those without penalties . . .
The Old Ones have not forgotten me!
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
They also count as being in soft cover when other units are shooting at them
And: if the unit has been granted the sacred spawning of Tzunki, note that it has +1 initiative as well.
Are rivers and lakes really impassible terrain? Does that mean block troops and even regular skirmishers can not cross water?
That would be correct
I believe certain rivers aren't, however. Like with a river that is 6" or wider, you can choose the direction it goes, then if you go that direction, it is impassable. Crossing the river is simply difficult terrain, unless you're aquatic, of course. Note that this is based on 6th edition rules (I think it is), because my friend hasn't lent me "our" 7th edition yet