Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hello Fellow Lizard Warriors -
I am very new to the Warhammer world. I've been dabbling with a 1,000 point army of lizardmen against some dark elves. After a few lucky victories I now want to take the plunge and go up to 2k. One of my favourite things about WH is choosing the army and I've had a go here and would appreciate your feedback.
It's very rough and basically I've just tried to include everything I want to use.
Slann - 325
Saurus 2x20 -540
Cold One Riders x 10 = 350
Skinks x40 = 240
Scar Vet = 150
Stegadon = 235
Skink Mage (lev 2 +dispel) = 125
That should be about 2k and then I can fill in the rest with magic stuff and upgrades etc.
I've never used a slann before or a stegadon and I'm a bit concerned about them tactically.
My main question is can you put your slann on the steg? i figure the extra wounds will give him some protection, and i'm not that bothered about charging him in to a couple of units if i can get one of the saurus units involved too.
Anyway, your feedback much appreciated and if this is just plain impossible, do i just upgrade one of the saurus to temple guard and stick the slann in there? The first plan sounds like a lot more fun!!
unfortunately your slann can not ride on the steggie (ride is probably too bumpy for his soft butt). you can however put a mage on him. good for protecting a mage looking for line of sight. you can put your slann in a group of saurus(if trying to save some points), but they will not be stubborn. i used a similar army against my brothers' ogres last night, and completely caught him offgaurd with all my magic(normally i like to use a more balanced, fighting type army against him).
slann 2nd gen
temple gaurd x16
steggie (with skinks)
be careful with such a magic heavy army though, i found that if you're having bad luck with your magic rolls, you don't have a lot of fighting power to back you up
The simple way to know is to look at the options for each unit entry. If he doesn't have the option to take something, then he can't take it. This applies to mounts and equipment
As far as I know the only Slann that can ride a Stegadon is Mazdumandi. He had special rules in some white dwarf issue and is rumoured to be a special character lord choice in our next book.