Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
On paper, the terradons look like flying cavalry. They don't get the -1 to shoot at bc they're US2, they give the +1 for being mounted, etc. But it is never stated Flying CAV, so they don't follow those rules.
They also look like (at least from presumption) that GW was trying to make a flying fast cav, hence the feigned flight rule.
Now to the real question. My general rule is to keep the terradons out of combat, but should I get crazy on turn 6 and in hopes of breaking the opposing general's unit, if I charge the flank/rear of the enemy with my terradons, will I negate ranks if I have US5 or more?
I'm saying yes, but this has never come up and in all likelihood, I'll be playing LM in a tourney this weekend.
I have used terradons to break units on the last few turns, I always use them to chase down wizards and depleted light cavalry but only when the reward far outweights the risk. Other times I have flew off into terrain to control or contest a table quarter because I valued that over perhaps giving away combat res or losing them due to break tests.
Typically when I do throw into combat its always a rear and never against troops that might destroy them with melee alone (such as black guard!) Against units like dwarfs, spears in most armies and other basic infantry, chances are you are probably getting more from the +2 for rear and potential kills than what you lose in wounds done to the terradons. Also the 3d6 persue move is nice if you win the combat!
They are also excellent for sitting behind units you know you should break in combat for the auto destroy by fleeing into US5 and also stopping your unit from running too far and as a consequence removing themselves from the game for a turn or two or making the over running unit vulnerable.
My book says they have the rule flying cavalry. I would look again.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
Mine does as well.
Page 52 and 96. Flying Cavalry.
But yes, They work great in landing on the flanks and rears of units, especially considering how far they can charge (goes great combined with Cold One Riders on a flank).