Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok guys, I think I might have stumbled upon the latest gaff in the Lizardmen book that I imagine will be FAQ'd.
Say I am using, for example, two skink characters in my army, both mounted on Stegadons (let's say one on an Ancient with the War-Spear and the other on an EOTG). I wish to put these characters in a unit as I am allowed to do so by the BRB. This unit is, say, 20 Skinks in a 5x4 formation with a standard.
Characters are placed, most times, in the front rank, but the 100mm frontage of the 2 Stegs exactly displaces the entire front rank of the skinks. Effectively you end up with a ranked unit that has two stegs side by side, with a neat block of 20 skinks behind it.
Now I know this is both an unwieldy and unnecessary unit to field, but it would be a unit that had at 5+ SCR, and did 3D6 + 2 S6 impact hits on the charge.
Please tell me I'm missing something fundamental in my proposed argument here. I'm just playing devil's advocate but this might be the most hilarious thing ever.
Was this post helpful? Please click the Thumbs Up button to the left if it was. Cheers!
Quannum, funkin' out in every way. Since 1987.
Well mages and archers can still single out your skinks quite easily not to mention cannons. Also what do you think would happen if YOU got charged? Stegs aren't the fastest things on the board so no more impact hits. A unit of chaos knights with lances lead by a character will probably be able to hurt you bad steggies or not.
Also doesn't a rank have to be 5 models wide? Your stegs wouldn't even technically make a first rank and the rules say that ranks have to be equal numbers if possible (with leftovers covering the rear) so you'd have a unit of basically 2*11.
You're probably further ahead to not make a large uber unit and take at least one steggie out to allow you to flank peeps.
Yeah unfortunately I overlooked that sorry bout that.
To answer your question (but I don't think it is viable) it is possible.
Daemonic cheese-how? Well, you would need to start with daemonic milk, i guess...
Yes it is viable/legal. I wouldn't do it with more than 10 skinks in the unit though. Keep it as cheap as possible. Use the other skinks to deflect charges, so those chaos knights don't get the charge and your super destroyer skink unit does.
Personally, I don't think you need more than one steg in a unit. This way you still have full ranks and numbers with banners, etc. and you can field another, similar unit on the other flank (you can even make one a BSB for further combat res)
2 of these units on the flanks, a big Saurus unit and Slann/Temple Guard make your center, and then some smaller skink units to redirect charges and you've got a balanced fighting army.
Last edited by buckero0; March 2nd, 2009 at 15:50.