Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm thinking about trying Giant Bows in my next game but I have no idea how they work. Do GB's take -1 while moving and firing? Do they take -1 for long range? Can a character's BS ever be used to fire it? Can it pivot before firing like regular war machines? If so does the entire Stegadon pivot with it? Can a single skink operate it every other turn like a normal war machine? Does the poison have any effect past the initial roll to hit the first model?
Do GB's take -1 while moving and firing?
Yes, it has not rule that says otherwise.
Do they take -1 for long range?
Yes, this also has no rule that says otherwise.
Can a character's BS ever be used to fire it?
I think this is still grey, but someone got a GW customer service person to say yes.
Can it pivot before firing like regular war machines?
The Stegadon can pivot during the movement phase, but not during the shooting phase.
Can a single skink operate it every other turn like a normal war machine?
No, it says it takes two skinks.
Does the poison have any effect past the initial roll to hit the first model?
This is also a grey area, but it seems that it is generally accepted that the first model takes an auto wound, but then you do a strength test for the next rank and so on.
Note that if the steg does pivot in the movement phase, it counts as moving for a -1 modifier to the hit roll.
Characters shooting it and the full effect of poison are indeed a grey area. I say all the rank is poisoned, because you rolled to hit against the rank and got a 6, but that does make it more powerful on that 1 in 6 chance it manages it, which is not going to happen on average every game since that thing should be in combat ASAP. Jormi covered the rest.
So far the ruling from most of the GW people I talk to have ruled that if you roll a 6 for the poisoned bow, it counts as poisoned for everyone behind it, therefore auto-wounding everyone and killing the rank
true, but that's what they gave us to look at as far as rules go. The giant bow fires like a bolt thrower.
Your character can't take the longbow out of his unit's hand and shoot it for him. He has to buy his own shooting weapon to shoot.
In regards to a character shooting the GB, there are no rules saying he cannot, but why would you do it?
The Lizardmen rulebook clearly states it takes two skinks to fire it, so he would need another skink crew member (who has lower BS) to assist him.
In my opinion the giant bows accuracy, power, and quality of the shot in general would be limited by the weakest of the skinks firing it, therefore changing nothing when fired with the help of the character.
The only time I would ever think to use the character to help fire the GB is if all but one of the skink crew had already been killed off, at which point I would still use the lower BS.
Last edited by Selendrile; May 18th, 2009 at 10:47.