Slann in a house - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Age
    32
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    10 (x1)

    Slann in a house

    Has anyone ever defended a building with a unit of TG's with a Slann before?

    And how effective was it?

    but more to the point with the slann / TG unit defending a building im curious as to what you would think about the following:

    Pg 98 shooting from buildings "If a building has a single storey, the unit occupying it has line of sight in all directions drawn from a height equal to the models themselves"

    Does the slann get to keep his large target LOS even inside the building?

    I know its a fluff arguement but it just seems unfair to allow him to keep this atleast on the bottom storey.

    And could you actually nominate your slann to take part in the assualt forgoing the TGs special fluff as there are no ranks?

    Last edited by AtomicThief; May 11th, 2009 at 23:33.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member Zarachius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Washington State
    Age
    28
    Posts
    184
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    Slann aren't large targets , though they are unit str. 3. Also, since the Temple Guard have no special rule that inhibits players from attacking the Slann, he can attack and be attacked while being in the building.

  4. #3
    Senior Member Glavas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, SA
    Age
    26
    Posts
    502
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    53 (x2)

    I thought, being US3, the slann can't enter the building?

    Glavas


  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Age
    32
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    10 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Zarachius View Post
    Slann aren't large targets , though they are unit str. 3.


    Slann count as having the los of a large target when joining a unit of TGs my question was more to the purpose of does everything within a building count as a single unit while inside, thus allowing the guardians special rule. Or do we have to break apart the guardians special rule since the unit is no longer rank and file. The book says something along the lines of in a "single story house LoS is worked out at the height of the model" but with the guardians special rule a slann is granted large target LoS, but not actually being a large target, thus the rules seem mutually exclusive.

    Quote Originally Posted by Zarachius View Post
    Also, since the Temple Guard have no special rule that inhibits players from attacking the Slann, he can attack and be attacked while being in the building.
    Its not a matter of can he be attacked its a matter if I can CHOOSE to allow him to take place in the assualt battle. In an assualt you nominate US10 to take place in the fighting specifing characters, and command models. But while with the Temple Guard the slann has to take a back seat to the fighting. So it pretty much comes down to a fluff type interpurtation or whether or not guardians is in full play since the unit is not rank and file formation.




    And yes slann can enter buildings with US3 the book uses Ogres as an example for the US10 in combat specification, saying that only 3 ogres could fight not four because of their US3/model.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts