Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
How do stone throwers work on stegadons with characters on top?
Would you follow the rules for chariots? I'm honestly not sure. I would suggest taking this questin to the WHFB rules section- the guys there are formidably good at resolving queries like this.
No more NG spearmen, thanks! Now I need some pump-wagons!
Fire the Stone Thrower as normal.
If the Steg model is hit by the Stone Thrower (either with a direct hit, or a glance and a roll of a 4+) the whole model is hit once.
Randomise the hit (1-4 hits the Steg, 5 hits the crew, 6 hits the character).
Roll to wound etc.
If a 5 is rolled for crew does a single skink get hit or however many are under the template? What about determining double strength with the center hole? And what about cannon bounces and bolt thrower rank piercing? Also if crew is hit would the d6 wounds part have any effect on the other crew?
Last edited by TetrisHermit; May 19th, 2009 at 12:37.
Only one model was under the template so only one hit is caused.If a 5 is rolled for crew does a single skink get hit or however many are under the template?If the centre hole is over any part of the Stegs base then the hit is double strength (and no roll of 4+ is required to cause a hit, even if the whole Steg isn't covered by the template).What about determining double strength with the center hole?The model is hit once and the hit is randomised as normal (1-4 steg, 5 crew, 6 character).And what about cannon bouncesThere Stegadon model has no ranks, so rank piercing is impossible.and bolt thrower rank piercing?No. Each crew member has a seperate profile from the next, so D6 wounds is dealt to a 1 wound model. The excess wounds are discarded.Also if crew is hit would the d6 wounds part have any effect on the other crew?
Last edited by kroxigor01; May 19th, 2009 at 13:13.
actually, the rules for stone throwers and monstrous mounts with multiple riders say different. You don't randomize, the entire model is hit. You would roll 3 times 4+ to see if steg is hit, 4+ to see if crew is hit, 4+to see if the character is hit (since the stone thrower template probably won't cover the entire model)
It does D6 wounds no armor save with the strength of the hole (if covering the model) or 1/2 strenght if hole isn't touching the base.
So you have a chance to lose your steg, 1 crew member and your character with one decent hit and some good rolling. It's pretty nasty.
page 61,85 in the RuleBook
Last edited by buckero0; May 19th, 2009 at 16:47.
Now here's a question. Since the character is there with four crewmen and the stegadon, does he benefit from "Look out, sir!"? Because with the crew and the stegadon, there are 5 other models involved.
But they aren't rank and file models, so I would say no.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.