Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Temple Guard when a Slann is present is the obvious choice for an utterly resolute anchor/anvil unit. However, if you choose to run an Oldblood (on Carnosaur) list, are Temple Guard even worth their points cost without the bonuses granted by the Slann's presence? If not, what is a worthy alternative? I'm fairly new to Lizardmen, but the regular Saurus Warriors seem solid enough to be both an effective anchor/anvil unit as well as sufficient protection for a BSB. What numbers and configuration would be effective? I'm thinking two units of 18-20 (as anvils) could do the trick.
I wouldn't touch temple guard unless you have a slann, they are just to pricey and that +1 save isnt really worth the points. A unit of Saurus with spears and a champ can hold their own just fine against most units. When using spears I prefer the 6X3 format, you do loose a rank bonus, but those 4 extra attacks can easily make up for it. Also if you can put a Scar Vet in there they can be really nasty.
You could always throw Gor-rok in a unit of saurus and make them stubborn.
Stegadons can be good hammer and anvils as well.
Hello, there i recently started collecting lizardmen and even though this more of general warhammer question i thought it would fit in well here.
my friend told me that even though my sauras warriors have 2 base attacks they only get 1 attack when fighting with spears in the second rank, i don't have the current warhammer rulebook and he does so i'm not sure.
Could anyone clear this up for me because i want to know how to configure my unit
that used to be the case, due to the predatory fighters rule in the last rulebook version. now however it has gone and both first and second rank get both attacks. this has made nearly every saurus warrior unit to equip with spears and makes them arguably the best spearmen in the game.
Your friend should buy the latest army book
The rule in the BRB that does apply is that when the saurus charge, only the first rank can attack. In any combat where they didn't charge, both ranks get two attacks as lewbot said.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.