Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
My gaming group has lately brought up many questions regarding salamanders. The latest question is giving me some trouble. Salamanders (and Razordons) have the monster and handlers rule, which comes with rules for distributing damange in addition to their own unique way of distributing damage in the Army Book. The monsters and handlers rule is that you use the toughness and save of the monster for all wounds and then randomize for the handlers. The Army Book rules is that you randomize the hits (which would mean before rolling to wound/save etc.) between the handlers and salamanders for missile and impact hits. I have been playing with the Army Book rules for missile hits and impact hits and the Monster and Handlers rule for any other type of hits. Now that I have been looking at the rules more thoroughly I notice that these two rules do not necessarily override each other, and so I should be able to use both. If I'm hit with a missile weapon I would randomize hits and then any hits taken by the salamanders would then also be randomized. This would kill of my handlers very quickly but make the salamanders themselves very safe.
How do you guys play this? Could you reference any rules that support the way you play because I cannot find anything definitive.
Also, what happens when all of the skinks from 1 salamander die in a unit of 2 or more? I would assume that individual salamander could not randomize his wounds at all anymore, but what about the monster reaction test? it says near the bottom of the salamander entry in the Army Book that as long as 1 skink is around he keeps the unit under control or something of that sort, but I can't find my army book today lol. If the whole unit were to be forced to take a test in this event and fail it, would on ly 1 salamander benefit from frenzy if I roll it?
Ok I'm done typing, sorry for the extensive questions.
Check out the above link for a long and convoluted discussion of your first question. As for your second question, as long as one handler is alive, you unit doesn't need to take a monster reaction test.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
So absolute RAW says they get distributed twice. That's favorable for us, but I don't even want to play that way because it cannot be what GW has intended. I think I'll be giving my opponents a choice of that or straight up monsters and handlers. I feel bad enough about how many rules go in the Sallies favor in the new edition hehe.
The part about distribution in our armybook precedes the monster and handler special rule (or troop type rule). So it was made to make sure that it was clear how shooting attacks should be distributed. A lot of monster handler combinations didnt have such a rule and therefor GWS made up the monsters and handler rule. So the version in the rulebook is to fill in the gaps.
So I think the rule in the armybook overrules the rulebook. Since this is true with all duplicate rules! If you have a magic item that has the same name as the one in the rulebook than you have to use the one in you armybook even though it can have a different point cost and/ or effect.
That is what I thought at first, but they are not duplicate rules. The monster and handlers rules can co-exist with the rules in the army book. My personal belief is that this is an oversight by GW and that what they most likely meant was for the army book rules to be the only part that works (if anybody over there has thought about it at all). But personal beliefs mean nothing at all...
yeah well, still I think you should take the armybook rules on distributing shots over the one in the rulebook. Just because that is most probably what they intended with the rule set. But you are right about the part that there is no definitive answer, so each his own I think.
Well I cant find anything in the FAQ, maybe something will pop in there soon...
They just need to errata the whole salamander's section of the army book imo. I think I have all of their rules and possible scenarios figured out (barring the distribution), but it is hard to show opponents the answers to their questions at a moments notice.
yeah, I know... still just being persistent is enough most of the time
There is an entry in the FAQ which says:I think that might solve this problemSalamander Hunting Packs, Hunting Pack
Change the first paragraph to “Salamanders are treated as
Monsters for the purposes of the Monster & Handlers rule.
The unit may not be joined by characters.”
That is the entry that brought up my question in the first place :p
well if you change the first paragraph of the special rules section into what it stated above, your question is answered right?
I guess thats what should be done They just need to change "the first paragraph" to "the first paragraph of the special rule section" or something alike