Librarium Online Forums banner

Steg Question?

2K views 12 replies 7 participants last post by  UbaNess 
#1 ·
I just wanted to know how many Stegadons is too much & too less in a 2500pt list, because i read in another post saying that one is just not enough.

So i'm going to change my original question to: How many Steg's is too much & how many Steg's is just right in a 2500pt list? thanx or does it really depend on what army your battling against?.

p.s sorry if this question has been asked before.

#2 ·
I would guess that a lot depends on the army you are faceing.
Im pretty new to Lizardmen myself and, when starting, really fancied a couple of Stegs in my army.
I have found though that 1 is just never effective (Using one for the Engine of the Gods alone just doesnt seem to be worth the points spent)
I have tried 2 with limited success, I would say 3 would be required to be really effective, but then the points could probably be better spent elsewhere.
Stegs tend to become an expensive war-machine magnet and you really need muyltiple flank-charges from them and most players will take steps to stop this if you are just running one or two. Add a third and it becomes very difficult for your opponent to stop all of your efforts.
This is from my experience running Saurus heavy lists (with Slann). I have som eideas where a Skink heavy list could be make 2 Stegs more effective, but am yet to put this into practice.

#6 ·
Vs armies that have war machines capable of dropping a Steggie in very short order- the Empire, Dwarfs, HE and DE (RBT single shot). In this case, I would, going in, go with either 2 or none, as the odds are they are going to have cannons that can reach out and hit you fairly easily.