Welcome to Librarium Online!
I'm just now starting to create a 4000 pt lizardmen army, and i was going to include a 2nd gen slann as my general but I wanted to put a 4th gen slann in as well (2 slann on the battlefield just looks so cool). do you guys think that would suck up too many of my points, and also if not how large a guard should I give him?
I'd say it's definately viable to have a 2nd and 4th gen. slann at 4000 points. As for their unit I'd say a unit of 16-20 temple guard for the 2nd and 12-16 for the 4th. It would also be a good decision to take a unit of 16-20 saurus with the spawning that makes them immune to psychology instead of the temple guard.
oh saurus can link up with the slann? i thought only temple guard could do that.
it doesnt say in the armies book, and you dont have to take the temple guard if you dont want them, just swap them with a cheaper alternative like what evan8433 said, your slann can jump out if he wants to join another unit, or go solo and zap the enemy on his own, no rules against that...
that battle sounds like fun, could you tell us of it after you play the game and see how well you've done?
i'm thinking of challenging my sister with her 5k point skaven army...
...Death to the rat spawn!
well i still need to buy the pieces and paint them before i can play, so its gonne be awhile. ill post my army list for critique as soon as ive completed it
Couldn't a slann technically join any unit that allows characters to join? He wouldn't be able to stay in the second rank but jsut wondering. Anyway yeah it says inthe army book he can join a temple guard unit or saurs and sit in the second rank, maybe saying that restricts it to just them but it doesn't really matter, not much to be gained putting him in another unit except maybe a wardsave for the unit(one of the plaques).
The rules concerning the Slann's place in the unit doesn't depend on the unit he join as the rules are stated in the Slann's profile and I believe it doesn't mention the Temple Guard specifically.
so that means I can put him in a unit of regular saurus in the second row?
Definately, I don't think there's any arguments against it at all. I was saying I was only sure with temple guard and the regular saurus because I didn't remember what the rulebook said.Originally Posted by Vukasin
ok kool, now all thats left is buying the actual miniatures. i looked up the cost at games-workshop.com and all of them together will cost just over $600 :-(