Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Well I was reading in the rules section about the skink chief/priest on a steg and a few questions came up. First of all just rules based, is it free to put the hero in the howdah? Like you just pay for the hero and the steg and replace the crew? Cause it says can ride a stegadon for the points cost listed in its description and I was unsure whether it was refering to the steg's point cost or there was an aditional cost.
And now onto the reason this isn't in the rules section and the real reason for this post. Does any1 actually use a skink chief or priest in the howdah? I've actually yet to come across any1 here who really uses a skink chief at all. I mean there's a few of us, but we're exactly that, few. I also haven't used a chief in any list I expect to win. The only real benefit he'll bring to the steg is Ld. and if you equip him properly maybe a little extra hitting power? Even then without him there's 5 wounds for the skinks and 5 attacks. It's hard to justify the points cost.
I've also heard of using a chief in the howdah with the staff of the lost sun. This seems like a decent idea, effectively replacing the bolt thrower and providing +1Ld. However the other skinks are still gone and we still only have 2 wounds before the steg could potentially go nuts.
The skink priest in the steg could be usefull in huge point battles perhaps, like 3-4K if your goin magic heavy. The skink priests could get in a good position to provide LOS for the slaan and provide good protection for the skink priest. After a little magic casting on enemy units the steg charges in and cleans up the mess. However this is a little costly, and definately not points effective if you use the old heavens lore.
Talking about points, what about the bolt thrower? Don't we pay for that already in the steg? It is kind of useless but I wouldn't wanna throw it away completely.
All that being said, has any1 actually tried a skink hero in the howdah? was it effective would you do it again? If not does any1 plan to do it or have any ther arguements for it? If the skink were to displace just 1 or even 2 of the crew it would be great. It may still even be good if it only displaced 1 or 2 crew and didn't allow the bolt thrower. I'd definately try it then. I may still try it just for fun some day but my games are few and far between so I wanna know if it's even fun to try.
I've done this, and it doesn't work out too terribly bad. I tried once with the staff, but I didn't see the point of it since it's a shortbow. It has a 16" range, and the steg's charge range is twelve. That means for the best benefit of firing the staff you're going to have to be 8" or less from your target anyway, and if you marched to get there you can't shoot at all. Therefore you're waiting an entire turn to fire a bow at a unit that's in charge range in the first place.
I went heavy melee on the chief with the sword of might and BL of Sotek. In CC, he makes up a better crew than your regular skinks, but as you said the stegadon is only two wounds away from a monster check this way.
Was it worth it? Kinda. Would I do it again? Only if I were playing 3k or more points.
And on your first question, the points cost of doing this is: Skink (Character type here) point total + Stegadon base cost = Unit cost.
Ok, that's what I thought(and hoped).Originally Posted by Mishra
The staff seemed like a good idea when I read about some1 using it, but I forgot about the range, I'll be a lot more hesitant to try that combo.
The sword of might and sotek does indeed sound like a much better combo, and I'm still a little hesitant in taking him.
It's too bad that a saurus hero can't do it, that would be amazing. Of course 2 amazing that's why it's not allowed I'd imagine.