Welcome to Librarium Online!
Yesterday I had a very unusual encounter with my friends salamanders. For starters I was Bretonnians and the unit in question was 8 Knights Errant and a Damsel. The unit had the errantry banner and the mane of the purebreed (which is quite overkill). Up until that fight as rarely as we did get into cose combat with each other we did it wrong. Skirmishing units are supposed to line up with the most models possible touching. We finally started arranging the skinks in the front because they are smaller and more of them can touch. Whether thats required or not we did it and it had a strange effect. First off I obliterated all of his skinks but maybe one and thought I was about to overrun but of course he rolled double 1's. The following round I killed a salamander and got one to 1 wound. Again he rolled double 1's. Finally I had all but that one salamander down and we realized there needed to be a monster reaction. He rolled the stay in place and become unbreakable result. I almost lunged at him. So in the end he held me another two rounds because my knights errant could not get that final wound. I realized way too late I should lap around. So, did we do that right?
Yeah unfortunately if you charge salamanders then they have to get as many models into base contact as possible. This usually results in a salamander fighting on each corner and the skinks lined up in the middle.
However if the sallies charge then the nearest charging skirmishing model must be put into base contact, so its possible for one salamander to be in the middle with the other two on each corner, and the skinks again in between.
I used to think that the sallies formed up and the skinks lined up behind them, but alas this isn't the case
As for lucky rolling, it happens. I charged a unit of skaven slaves with 20 saurus once. The saurus lost the combat, broke and got run down...by SLAVES!!
It's unlikely but at the end of the day you just gotta say "hey, it happens"
Yepper, you and your pal did the combat correctly. You can even go to the Direwolves FAQ in the rules helps section to verify it for yourself. It's one of those unfortunate times when you're the bug instead of the windshield. ^_^
thats just pure bad luck, it happens to everyone eventually,
like in the latest battle i had, as my opponent charged his 450+ point olblood on carnie at my skinks screening a unit of 16 saurus, unsurprisingly the skinks got beaten and fled, he overran into the saurus and they held him up for no less then 3 turns, all bar 3 of the unit survived, in return i killed his carnie and took him down to 1 wound oh, with the help of a gt. weapon-toting scar-vet. (which only cost 146pts), that is without the bad dice rolling, cursing and miscasts all over the show (for which i will tell later in the army lists forum)
the only advice for me to give you could be that you pray to the dice gods and get as many lucky charms as possible, or just hope it doesn't happen again (trust me it will...)