Kroxigor + hero? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    324
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    Kroxigor + hero?

    is it possible for heros to join aw kroxigor unit even though their bases are of different sizes?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements

  3. #2
    Member DonkeyKONG922's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    US
    Age
    25
    Posts
    95
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x1)

    no, i believe not.

  4. #3
    Son of LO
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,351
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    523 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by DonkeyKONG922
    no, i believe not.
    Actually yes they can

    Q. How do characters interact with units of differently sized models?

    A. Unless otherwise forbidden by the rules (or in a Q&A), a
    character can always join a unit, regardless of their mount.

    A unit always moves at the speed of its slowest model, so if a
    character on foot joins a cavalry unit, they would move at the
    character’s Movement rate.

    A character only gains ‘Look out, Sir!’ if part of a unit of ‘similar
    sized models’. The same applies to targeting characters within 5"
    of a unit. This does not change, whether they are actually within the
    unit or not. So a character on a horse can still be picked out if he
    joins a unit of infantry, for example. For these purposes, a character
    on a monster base (40mm or larger) counts as being bigger than normal
    cavalry.

    A character in a chariot cannot join a unit unless it is a chariot
    unit, and only a character in a chariot may join with another chariot
    or chariot unit.

    A character takes up the space of an equivalent number of rank and
    file models as their base fills. For example, a cavalry model would
    take up one space in the first rank and one space in the second rank
    of an infantry unit. These ranks still count as complete if four
    ‘spaces’ wide or more, whether that space is filled with a rank and
    file model or a character. See the diagrams on page 113 of Warhammer
    Chronicles 2004 for examples.
    S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 113.
    Ciao

    Stonehambey

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    324
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    okay, then if he was with the kroxigor unit could they still charge through skinks? or is it like the rules for moving: the whole unit follows the least capable model?

  6. #5
    Son of LO
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,351
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    523 (x8)

    or is it like the rules for moving: the whole unit follows the least capable model?
    Spot on

    Ciao

    Stonehambey

  7. #6
    Member Slann mage Tokes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    victoria BC
    Age
    30
    Posts
    102
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    A Jsod works really well with my 5 kroxigor....

    but my favorite is to slapp my slann down with them and give my krox a 4+ ward save, deadly. As the slann can still cast in combat (obviously...) the Krox make for some tough bodyguards.
    Peace, lurks in the Jungle...

  8. #7
    Son of LO
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,351
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    523 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Slann mage Tokes
    but my favorite is to slapp my slann down with them and give my krox a 4+ ward save, deadly.
    The Slann's bodyguard cannot be given a 4+ ward, sorry

    Ciao

    Stonehambey

  9. #8
    Member Slann mage Tokes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    victoria BC
    Age
    30
    Posts
    102
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    My mistake. I meant a 5+ ward which is a fact. The plaque, cupped hands of the old ones.

    "A sphere of glowing light extends around the Slann and his entire retinue as the divine protection of the old ones is focused upon them"

    But they lose the ward in close combat, still it is great for magic and gunpowder/elves.

    again my mistake.
    Peace, lurks in the Jungle...

  10. #9
    Member geo_ork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Lincoln
    Age
    33
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    If I figure right, if the slann was in a unit of kroxigor that was in combat, unless it was behind the Kroxigor or not touching the enemy, it couldn't cast spells. I thought the slann being able to cast spells (and not count as touching the enemy) only applied if you are in a unit of saurus or temple guard. Kroxigor are too big to fly over, right? Does this need clarification at all, or is the book clear able only being able to be in the second rank of a saurus or temple guard unit?

  11. #10
    Son of LO
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,351
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    523 (x8)

    No it can cast spells as normal. The book doesn't say anywhere that the unit must be saurus.

    In addition, kroxigor are considered to be the same size as saurus for targeting purposes (i.e. They are not large targets)

    Ciao

    Stonehambey

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts