Welcome to Librarium Online!
I've heard all about the first slann and scar tactic, and this is based on that.
For those who don't know, the slann takes the lore of shadows aswell as whatever else. He then downgrades whatever spell he has to steed of shadows.
Then, a scar vet with blade of realities (ignores ward saves) gets it cast on him, and he flies into combat with whatever casters the opponent may have, thus annhilating the magical opposition.
My idea is to take this further. What if the slann also takes the 1st level spell of the lore of beasts (don't remember name). This he casts on the scar vet, giving him +1 toughness, +2 strength and +3 attacks, thus giving him 7 attacks with the equivalent of a great weapon at str 7. Little point in any magic weapons (may not be used when spell is in play) so his points are kept low. Then he flies like before but now he no longer has to target casters, he can target any thing he likes, to a degree. All this from 2 power dice and two spells you are sure to get, bearing in mind that each one power dice is really 2D6+1 (2nd gen) and your slann can continue with his devastating fusillade of whatever magic he has.
Sounds fun xD. But will it be actually useful or a waste of a spell slot? Or are there any rules against this? Or...which is sadly frequently the case, am i just wrong?
"If a jobs worth doing, its worth dieing for"
I prefer the Jaguar saurus. It's more reliable, does the same thing and doesn't take up two of the Slann's spell choices
There are no rules prohibiting this, at least so far as I am aware. And if you can get the spell combination to function, it is extremely useful. However, you have to keep in mind that both spells will not always go off. And then you either have a pumped up scar veteran sitting around doing nothing, or a scar veteran with only basic combat stats far away from your lines... Some good defensive gear might be in order.
If it DOES work it is pretty powerful.
Ya, what they said. If you get the spell to work, great. If not, well that's a possibility you accept. Depends on if you want to take that risk of it maybe or maybe not working.
The jaguar bit is more reliable. No dice rolling for that one.
(And why are only mods posting in this tread? )
all is well and good but, you've forgotten one thing is that the Bear's Anger spell is a 'remains in play' type of spell with only 12" range, even if you cast the spell on the scar-vet. and attempt to cast another, like the Steed of Shadows, the Bear's Anger spell will no longer be in effect due to you casting another spell in other words, even the slann's magical mind needs to focus on one thing at a time not two.
trust me, i've tried it and the rules never agree... still a good idea though.