Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok, I cannot find a thread on this topic, so I am posting my question in this one. Can somebody please tell me exactly how a Diadem of Power works please? I have this crazy mental thing going on where I over-examine everything, even putting in scenarios that aren't possible because I tried to place the logic into where the round peg is supposed to go.
Right, enough with the history of my psychological problems, and on to the issue at hand. I think the part that throws me the most it the word "next" in the items description. It says, "blah, blah, blah, save up to 2 power or dispel and add them to the pool into his side's next magic pool..."
Now, does this mean that a) I can save the unused dice from my magic phase and use them to counter my opponent (ie. 2 power dice can become dispel dice, or 2 dispel can become power dice), OR b) I can save the unused dice for a full turn, my next magic phase where the type save would come into play (ie. power dice would still be power dice, and dispel dice would still be dispel dice).
Any help that can be offered would be great. Thank you in advance.
I use the diadem of power in the following way and I havent had any problems with people, the GW staff play it this way as well.
You keep 2 unused dice, power or dispel and use them in the next turn.
Lets say you keep 2 power dice. In your next magic phase you have an extra 2 power dice. Power dice were saved so you use power dice. These power dice cannot become dispel dice.
Hope that clears it up (doubt it tho )
It says the next magic phase so I've just used it that it can turn power dice into dispel dice and vise versa etc
Please tell me your just pulling my leg there. It's kind of hard to judge sarcasm in forums.
That's because I'm not being sarcastic, and I don't know what made you think I was.
"The diadem allows the bearer to save up to two of his own unused power dice or dispel dice at the end of any magic phase and store them, to add to his side's dice pool in the next magic phase"
- This should be very straight forward. If you look at the context of the question. It says that you can save dice at the end of any magic phase (so your turn or your opponents magic phase), so the next magic phase will be the other persons magic phase, or your's if you were dispelling in the previous magic phase.
So, in the straight answer: The diadem can be used to turn 2 unused power dice in your magic pahse into Dispell Dice in your opponents magic phase, or turn 2 unused dispell dice from your opponents magic phase into power dice in your magic phase.
Thanks for the quick replies, but this still gives me two options I started with. I don't suppose that GW has officially made an announcement on this either way.
I have always found this item to be pretty clear, just read what it says in the description. In my magic phase I store two power dice for the next magic phase, I then tranfer them to the next magic phase, which is my opponents, it doesn't say you tranfer them to your next magic phase, just the nest magic phase in general.
What would be the point in tranfering power dice to my next magic phase, I have a really bad magic phase for one turn so I can have a better one next turn? doesn't make much sense to only have a strong magic phase for only half the game, and the other half have a really bad magic phase since I have 2 dice less to use because i want to tranfer them over. Just read the rules and follow them, there straight forward for this item.
I have always used the diadem of power like Bleyden:yes: ; to save unused power dice or dispel dice until my next magic phase, in order to have a more powerful magic phase next turn, or to be able to dispel with more dice. Feels very cheesy if you could transform power dice into dispel dice, since power dice are easier to acquire... But I may be wrong....