Obliterators - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: Obliterators

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    47
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Obliterators

    I have a chaos friend that plays, in every game, 2 3 man squads of Obliterators. Is there any real way to defeat the W2 monstrosities with Necrons or is my best hope to just VoD a squad of Scarabs in to tie them up long enough to DS a monolith and pull some regular warriors through the portal??

    And for the chaos players, can an obliterator take twin linked lascannons or is limited to single shot lascannons??


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    When facing Obliterators with Necrons, I find the best way to get rid of them is to just shoot the hell out of them with 15 unit sqauds(15 shots - rapid fire = 30 shots), with any luck your opponent is bound to fail some 2+ armour rolls. Failing that a unit of 10 Pariahs could work, but are very expensive and cannot get back up.
    By the way Scarabs cannot move via a Veil of Darkness - only necron units can.
    Not sure on the weapon rules for Obliterators, regarding TL lascannon.

  4. #3
    Supreme Evil Overlord Dreachon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    the Netherlands
    Age
    32
    Posts
    4,873
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    189 (x8)

    Obliterator has only a single lascannon, twin-linked is not available, next time you play him ask him to show you the page on what weapons the obliterator has.
    Alos does he use Iron Warriors rules cause otherewise he can have only a single sqaud as they normally have a 0-1 limit on them which does not count for IW.

  5. #4
    heretical thoughts? ShadowZora13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Age
    24
    Posts
    948
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    231 (x4)

    Yep, best way to kill them is mass gauss. I had a 10 man warrior squad kill 1 or 2 of a 3 man squad in one turn firing. they didn't get anything done that battle, so I really don't know the full potential of them yet...


    "...lest we perish without ever recognizing our peril"
    -Inquisitor Hoth

  6. #5
    Senior Member justinb67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Victorville, CA
    Posts
    709
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x2)

    oh, please guys. heavy-d's!!!

    S9 AP2 = instant death (they are unmod T4) after they fail the 5+ inv. No taking a wound, toughness don't matter, the heavy gauss cannon mows them down everytime. Oblit costs 70 point. If you can be strategic with your heavy-d's, you can take 3 separate squads of 1, and use terrain to limit your vulnerability to some of them while you knock them out 1 squad at a time.

    Also FYI, taking more than 1 squad of oblits is only legal if he is playing iron warriors, so if he plays summoned demons also, then he is playing an illegal list.

    Justin
    Wednesday nights at GW (Ontario Mills in Ontario, CA)
    W/L/T
    14/3/0

    Latest Victims
    4-7-05 - SoB 1200, S&D Omega, Opponent was new.
    4-7-05 - ME! Chris beats me again with his space wolves (he is a good palyer without his eldar).

  7. #6
    Senior Member Deek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Beecher Illinois
    Age
    26
    Posts
    975
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    40 (x2)

    It is limited to single shot but they can have the reaper auto cannon i believe. Your best bet for destroying them is to
    1 MASS gauss fire like every thing you got till their dead.
    2 Wraiths and Destroyer lord to get them into cc
    3 Hide from them untill you have significant forces to take them on

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Richmound, Surry, England
    Posts
    91
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    -1 (x0)

    Ok this is what can kill a oblitorator in one hit

    NOTHING it thougness -5- and cannot be killed instantly due to demonic rune! and yes it is a twin linked las cannon and plus there in sqauds of 1-3 not single units!And we might take down the lord since we have a power fist str 8
    Last edited by Chaotic Fury; April 12th, 2005 at 22:27.

  9. #8
    Senior Member Baratos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Yuggoth (I am a mushroom!)
    Age
    24
    Posts
    716
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x2)

    1. They dont have d rune.
    2. You got the str of the powerfist wrong.
    3. Heavy Ds etc can instakill them.
    4. Its not twinlinked (lascannon).

    Well....at least you knew they can have lascannons.
    ________________W/L/T
    Hive Fleet Furi Kuri 32/21/4
    Tomb Kings: 8/5/2

    Im in ur Halo, killin ur covernantz

  10. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Iowa City, IA, USA
    Posts
    236
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    Well, to get some accurate information out . . .

    1) Obliterators are toughness five, so only the Nightbringer can instantly kill them.
    2) Obliterators do no have daemonic rune and cannot take daemonic rune, so they can be instantly killed.
    3) Obliterators cannot use twin-linked lascannons. The list in their codex entry is very specific--even including a twin-linked plasma gun and a twin-linked meltagun--and it does not include a twin-linked lascannon.

    All that information can be confirmed by simply reading their entry on page twenty-seven of the chaos codex.

    thank you and good night

  11. #10
    Senior Member Baratos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Yuggoth (I am a mushroom!)
    Age
    24
    Posts
    716
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x2)

    1) Obliterators are toughness five, so only the Nightbringer can instantly kill them.
    No, its 4(5). You have an out of date codex. You can also tell if says the Needle of Desire doesnt ignore inv saves, and a faulty Berserker Glaive entry.
    ________________W/L/T
    Hive Fleet Furi Kuri 32/21/4
    Tomb Kings: 8/5/2

    Im in ur Halo, killin ur covernantz

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts