Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was just playing in a three game tournament at my local game store on Saturday. While I was playing a few questions came up that I'm unsure about. If you guys could help me with this, I'd appreciate it.
1. I have a unit of bulls and joining the unit is a butcher with the skullmantle and a tyrant with demon killer scars. When a unit takes it's terror test for the tyrant, is it affected by the skullmantle? I'm thinking it is, because they're in the same unit. But, I'm unsure about it.
2. My tyrant was wielding the tenderizer. If I'm reading this correctly, it's special rules only affect multiple wound models, right? The wording says a model wounded and doesn't save is dealt d3 wounds. In that case, it's just a great weapon.
3. The unit of bulls, that my tyrant and butcher had joined, was killed over the course of the battle. This left only the tyrant and butcher alive. Are they still considered a unit? Or, are the now considered two seperate independant characters? It happened on the end of turn five, so it was only the final turn of the game that it came up. But, I'd like some clarification on the issue.
4. This question isn't about Ogres, but gaming in general. I noticed in my last game of the tournament, it ended in a draw but I was getting beaten soundly in the first few turns by his magic, I wasn't as pleasant as I had been in the first few games. I don't think I would be considered a poor loser from what I was doing. Mostly cursing under my breath and complaining about how poorly my dice were rolling (I'm not kidding, 4d6 and I got a 5, 3, and two 1's, it was getting ridiculous.) I know I'm a good winner. I don't rub my opponents nose in it, I keep my cool and everything. I'm just wondering what tips other people have for avoiding being labelled a poor loser.
Discount sushi isn't just a bargain, it's an adventure
1: Yes, it specifically says "or a unit he has joined" and the Tyrant is part of that unit.
2: Yes it only affects multiple wound models.
3: No, they become separate entities at the end of the phase in which the bulls were killed. Characters cannot join other characters to form a unit of their own.
4: Smile! : )
well, Neph already covered the easily answered ones.
As for #3, its never quite as fun to lose as it is to win. However, I always keep in mind that (hopefully) it was a great and close game with a pleasant opponent, and that both of you are there to have fun. Especially if your opponent is being a gracious winner.
On the other hand, if you are playing a poor opponent (I.E. someone who is being a jerk and rubbing everything in your face) its quite hard to keep a smile, so at least just keep your silence and promise yourself not to play him/her again =P.
"I am the architect of fate!"
Or if being nice and smiley does not work, find out where his hut is and sneak over there at night. Send your most trusted gnoblar in there and have him take a leak in his Mountain Dew!!
A note on #2. The Tenderizer will give you d3 wounds in a challenge no matter how many the model normally has. These wounds contribute to the overkill which is capped as normal. For Instance: Voracious the Tyrant is armed with his challenges and Moron the unit champion accepts. Moron only has 1 wound. Because Voracious charged he swings first causing 3 unsaved wounds, because this a challenge each of those wounds becomes d3 wounds. Voracious ends up rolling well and scores 7 total wounds. The challenge ends up giving the Ogres a combat res of +6 even though Moron the recently squished only had 1 wound. Hope that makes sense.
well, you can only add 5Cres from a challenge, but it's still a good weapon unless initiative is important.
Point: Thats 5 Combat Resolution OVER the wounds characteristic of the opposing model.
Example: Blabberslab the Overtyrant squares off against Dead Head the tomb king. The Tomb king has 4 wounds in his profile. Tyrant does 9 unsaved wounds to him. Thats 9 to CR. The initial 4 wounds PLUS the 5 overkill.
I don't think so, the brb is pretty clear that the most CR you can get from a challenge is 5 no matter how many wounds you actually do (5-105) You can never count more than 5 for the total combat resolution. Now with the tenderizer, you have a chance to do 5 nearly every turn, so it's still a good weapon, but you can't get 15 combat resolution from it.
Call me silly but what exactly is a "BRB"?
On page 77 of the WFB rulebook (the big fluffy hardback copy) the overkill rule states.. "Excess wounds caused when attacking characters are normally discounted because all the effort of these attacks goes into fighting the character. as any excess wounds are not inflicted, they are not counted towards the combat result. However, any excess wounds scored when fighting a challenge DO count towards the combat result, (up to a maximum of +5), even though they are not actually inflicted. This is called the Overkill rule.
Ok, this plainly states that when in challenge with a character, any excess wounds count towards CR up to +5... Thats not just 5 thats +5. To make this even moire plain they give an example.
This is a direct quote from the WFB rulebook
"For example, a Lord-level character and his dragon fight a champion in a challenge. They slay the champion before he has a chance to attack and cause 7 wounds on him! Their combat result is 1 (the original wound of the champion) plus 5 (the maximum overkill bonus) for a total of six combat result points. the last of the seven is wasted."
I hope this clears up any confusion and allows you guys to get the full benefit of your nasty Tenderiser weapon.
O.T. is right,
Overkill is the combat res bonus beyond the original number of wounds that whatever you are challenging has.
so if you challenged something with 6 wounds, somehow had enough attacks to completely obliterate it, you could get up to +11 combat res
"I am the architect of fate!"