Welcome to Librarium Online!
I was looking at the Ogre Bull Box set and i noticed they show them in 2 ranks of 3. Normally you need units in ranks of 5+ minimum too claim rank bonus. Normally 20 and 25 mm model bases use this Rule.
Now since Ogres are on 40mm bases(minotaur/Ushabti Size) they are just as wide as 2 20mm bases(duh!). Because of this they would be 6 model wise normally, do they get too claim a rank bonus for 2 ranks of 3 for this?
unfortunately no (as far as I know). They are most likely ranked up like that to add to the bulls' bull charge (+1 S to each impact hit)
The rank bonus is for number of models only...base size doesn't matter.
Exactly. Don't be expecting OKs to get much in the way of rank bonuses (we win combats by doing wounds and Outnumbering, strange as the latter may seem).
it can be worth it, but you just have to be careful they are giving you +3/4 CR (3 ranks, outnumber) and its not impossible you're opponent could get that back by killing the blighters, especially with some of the units out there.