Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
With the new coming of the rules, it looks as though a spellcaster is only allowed one spell per turn. What does that mean for our butchers, when we ogre players are used to throwing one or two die rolls?
The increased risk? With a butcher adding +2 to his cast, it will be an automatic cast with only one die. And the only risk posed for magic now is rolling a double 6, which will be impossible on one die. I don't believe I fully understand what you are saying.
And the idea comes from the rule that if a wizard's spell is not successfully cast he cannot cast another spell in the magic phase. I would only assume that he wouldn't be able to cast another if he successfully casted it also. And if this is so, why only throw one or two die when an opponent will easily be able to dispel our spell?
Last edited by The Falcon; June 18th, 2010 at 02:39.
Basically- 1 die casting is risky unless you have big numbers of spell-casters, which ogres usually don't.
No more NG spearmen, thanks! Now I need some pump-wagons!
So what is this going to mean for our casters then?
yes you add your level to the roll, and double 1 is no longer an issue (2x 1s is now just a total of 2), but an unmodified total of 1 or 2 on the dice is still a failure. so even though butchers add +2 to the roll, and slaughtermasters +4, there is still a 1 in 3 chance of failing with any given attempt on 1 dice. on 2 dice, however, this becomes 1 in 36, given you would only fail on a 1 1. the chance of miscasting is unchanged - in fact it's arguably better: 6 6 is total power and a miscast, compared to old rules where 1 1 was a miscast and the spell didn't go off.
Also, if a mage fails to cast a spell (because of an insufficient roll, not being dispelled), he can no longer cast that phase.
So if you have enough butchers you might being by throwing 2 dice at the buffs you really, really want, then later in the phase trying 1 dice at buffs you really don't mind not going off. having said that, I think you have to cast with one wizard then change to another wizard and you can't go back? (someone else might have to clarify this one).
The biggie with the new magic, for me, is how much more powerful most of the schools now are, and the fact most offer buff spells of their own. So they gain our ability, and we gain nothing except the prospect of most armies having a lot more power and dispel dice to use as dispel dice to remove our 'remains in play' buffs.