Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I don't play ogres myself, but an ogre player used this one against me the other day. I figured you guys would know more about it and be able to verify this one for me.
he had a unit of ironguts i think, that was 3*4. front rank had all his command models, as required. three characters were sitting in the second rank. When we engaged in combat, he used the characters "make way" rule on page 100 BRB, to move all his characters to the front rank. Then proceded to beat me mercelessly, because i couldn't damage the higher toughnes/better save characters.
Can he really do that? I know you can make way and all, but i thought that was just to the flank and rear. Don't command models ALWAYS have to be in the front rank? Probably wouldn't have changed things too much, since the characters still would have gotten to attack me and kill me completely, but at least i'd have taken a few of the unit ogres out. I let him do it, simply because it wasn't worth fighting over. but the more I think about it, it irks me. I looked through the BRB and page 92 in the BRB states in BOLD "Command groups must be placed in the unit's front rank and move automatically if the unit reforms."
For future refrence, how does this really work?
They should have been in the front to begin with.... If you had flank attacked him, or hit him in the rear, he would have had the option of making them move to wherever the attack was occurring..
5000 pts of WoC, 5000 pts of Orcs and now 3000 pts of Ogres...What was I thinking ????
characters can not normally displace command models. This is a change in the new edition. Command models must be in the front rank of the unit. Any characters that can fit in the front rank will displace rank and file models, but if there is no room in the front rank, characters move to the second rank. this much I know for a fact, because its how i keep Teclis safe (yes, i'm a HE player). Block of elites 5wide with full command and 3 characters. command takes up 3 spots, two characters take the remaining two spots, and Teclis is "forced" to the second rank. Same applies here, in that the characters can not displace the command models, and as such are deligated to the second rank.
The question revolves around him displaceing the command models durring the make way move. I can't find anything that says he can't, other than the bolded statment listed above. I'm just after a little verification. It wouldn't be the first time someone cheated when playing me, whether it was intentional disception or not.
Yes he can do that, the BRB says that they can exchange the command group with make way.
The book says command models must be in front rank, and the book also states that you can use MAKE WAY to exchange with the command group.
Unfortunately when fighting the Ogres who have been using FC to displace our commanders into the safety of rank 2, the book doesn't really touch up on which of the 2 rules would take precedence in terms of our Characters coming forward to bash your skull in. Unless or Until there is a FAQ that touches up on this situation(i haven't seen one) its legal.
Ogre Players are under the weather for the most part right now, and only the most experienced Tyrants are going to give other players a good fight. Until we get a update i can see that rule being "abused".
"edit" that being said a GW rule master whatever they are called could easily post a FAQ about it(i would like to know as well)