Welcome to Librarium Online!
I saw this in armybuilder, and it is a problem that would have come up in a game last night between friends. An ogre tyrant charged empire swordsmen in the last turn of the game on the rear by himself, with yhettees charging on the front. The tyrant had the bullgut giving him us 6. The problem is, in armybuilder it says that the bullgut only does this if the charge is over 6" which it wasn't. I know armybuilder is not a reliable rules reference, so I checked the book, errata on the warhammer site, and direwolf faq, and the boards, and couldn't find anything about it. Is this correct? Does it require a 6" charge, or was the tactic fine?
OK I'm at work, and don't have my Ogre book with me. . . (And I'm an OK noob myself) so take this with a grain of salt.
Bullgut if I remember corectly gives you additional impact hits when you charge. You only get charge impact hits however if you charge from over 6" away. . .so I belive that army builder was correct. Although I don't think the entry for Bullgut says anything about it.
Votewar MKV 2nd place. . .
Back from internet limbo, and glad to be here.
The Bullgut gives the model wearing it a US of 6 on any charge *and* the impact hit from the bull charge is considered armor piercing. You of course are required to charge from over 6" to get a bull charge, and thus the armor piercing ability as well. The US increase is given regardless of the charge distance.
It says on any turn the player charges he counts as US6 and and impact hits from bullcharges are considered armor piercing.
You just answered yourself. This is 2 seperate effects. First you get US6 on the charge, then you get armour piercing impact hits for the bull charge.Originally Posted by Master Jabu
Alright thank you, yea I did answer it, and that made sense to me, but reading army builder made the doubt possible which is why I needed to confirm
Army builder as it's own disclaimer when you start it, and states that it is not a rules reference, but a tool.Originally Posted by Master Jabu
Well, a unit can only make impact hits if it consists of over three models. Is there something that I am missing here? It doesn't say unit strength. It says models. So he wouldn't even make an impact hit, no matter what the distance. Right?
Yes, but the question was about him gaining unit strength 6 on the charge. Good thing to point it out though.Originally Posted by untitledmike