2000 point mixed O&G - new player, would this work at all? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

2000 point mixed O&G - new player, would this work at all?

Right, I'm aiming for a magic-heavy horde force, and thought that Orcs would be a good laugh to do it with (the other contenders are Beastmen and Skeven, both of whom need the books re-doing) - even if their heads may indeed 'go bang', the magic seems so totally bizarre and funny that I felt I had to give it a go.

So, I thought up an army list and I'm wondering if you think this concept will work - I don't expect the list to be brilliant, as it's my first attempt at an O&G one, so and C&C would be really appreciated.
    Lords

Savage Orc Great Shaman: Level 4, Staff of Baduum, Dispel Scroll x2
    310 (General)
    Lost that Power Stone - you made a good point about "over-charging" the magic. Should I take that second scroll, or abandon it to free up points? Also, I went for Savage for the [cheap] Ward Save (as opposed to the expensive item version). Still goes in Trolls.

Heroes

Night Goblin Shaman: Level 2, The Pipes of Doom, Magic Mushroom.
    Not sure how brilliant the Pipes will be, thinking about it. But given they're (sort of) a bound spell, and can be devastating agaisnt the right opponents... wuold it be more effective to take, say, the Horn of Urgok? Also, I'm not sure how the Staff of Sorcery works - is it +1 for THAT MODEL to dispell - but I didn't think that each model used it's own dispels? If it's army wide, then I think I'll take that.

Night Goblin Shaman: Level 2, Nibbla's 'Itty Ring & Magic Mushroom.