Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Is there any point in using a unit of trolls in a Night Gobbo army? I wanted to include them to provide a hammer unit but it seems to me that they'd just end up milling around and being stupid for most of the battle.
If someone could clarify some points then I'd be very grateful:
1. When a unit is stupid, can you then move the unit in the movement phase using the remainder of it's move allowance?
2. Can a unit use the general's leadership to test for stupidity if within the necessary distance?
Yes you can use the general's leadership, but I think he has to be in the unit. I knew a guy who would put a character in his unit of 4-5 trolls and they would march around and do serious carnarge. I'll have to check the BRB though - it's been forever since I read that section.
I read my little Battle for Skull Pass book (which I assume contains all of the rules) and it just doesn't say anything about it. I assume that this implies that I wouldn't be able to move them.
Hopefully I can clear this up a bit
Leadership: When taking a stupidity test, the trolls use their own leadership. If there is a character in the unit they use the highest leadership (normally the character's). If they are within 12" of the general they may use his leadership (see Using superior leadership p48and The General p82). This means that usually the best way of using trolls is to keep them alongside your general's unit as it means you don't have to use a character in their unit to "babysit" them.
Movement: If the trolls pass their stupidity test you may move them as normal. If they fail the test, you may not make any choice with regards to their movement - you must move them half of their M value directly forwards in the compulsory moves section of the phase, as described on p52. They may make no other movement in that turn.
Thou shalt remember:
Warhammer Fantasy armies do NOT have Codices. They have Army Books.
LINK - Guitarists of LO Group
Thanks. That's cleared that issue right up.