Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I've been out of the game for a while so i have a few questions about the choppa rule.
If an orc has two choppas, he still gets the extra strength bonus, correct?
It says they get the strength bonus in the first round of each combat, so this means they didn't have to be the unit to charge first to get the bonus, right?
And yes, they do not need to be the unit that has charged in order to get the strength bonus; it applies in the first round of every combat regardless of who charged.
Thou shalt remember:
Warhammer Fantasy armies do NOT have Codices. They have Army Books.
LINK - Guitarists of LO Group
Ok thanks, that's fantastic.
Thats what i thought but wasn't sure.
The old choppa rule always bugged me but this one is much better.
Can I gatecrash this thread on a related topic?
I'm a new player to Fantasy (leaving my little dabble 10 years ago!), coming from playing 40k, and I'm an Orcs and Goblins man.
In 40k, an extra attack is obviously good, but really not that amazing, whilst in fantasy, it seems to me getting an extra attack for your lads is a no-brainer. Now, I've only played one game, so I could be getting carried away with it, but is there a reason why taking the extra choppa isn't worth points spent?
ya, generally you take shield and choppa if you want the extra armor save. Since it acts as a hand weapon in every respect, in close combat they get +2 armor save with shield/choppa. So if you think they will need the save, maybe against high elves who always attack first, might be a good idea to get the save. That said, I prefer the 2x choppas, but take a unit of each for a balanced army.
Like chrisr18, I also usually run my basic orc boyz w/a shield rather than an extra choppa. Imo, their strength comes more from their ability to take punishment rather than dish it out. In fantasy this is a more viable approach because of static combat resolution (rather than 40k which only counts what you kill).
Two's to kill. Ahh, sweet sweet music.
In the previous army book it was a choice between 1 attack at S4 and +2 to your armor save, or 2 attacks at S3. The extra attack is still probably favorable, but you can see where the shield would be appealing.
Now that it's 2 attacks at S4, you see way more double choppa mobs.