Welcome to Librarium Online!
I'm new to playing O&G's. I was reading the rule book and came across a question. Can a Black Orc character join a unit of goblins to Quell Anomosity? I looked in the book and it never says they can't, but the base sizes are different so the ranks will not be neat if he is able to join. Any discussion on this issue will be appreciated.
Hey, Black orc characters can join other units, if they could not they would have a rule that says so like the Giant Cave Squig does, or characters wielding Bashas bloodaxe.
Welcome to Orcs and Goblins!
There are no issues with them joining other units (vice versa works too if you want a gobbo hero in an orc unit).
Personally I don't mix them up... for me it feels... un-orky...
“You know wot the chain o’ command is? It's the chain I go get and bash you wiv 'till you understand who's in ruttin' command round here.”
Honestly the reason I think MOST players don't mix and match is that they are dfferent base sizes and some times that doesn't fit neatly in movement trays etc.
Thanks for the input guys. I never liked the different base sizes for troops that could group together.
to borrow from one idea already poster on another post, could you not trick out a gobo with some fun armor, prehaps stolen from dead empire men, and say he's on some kind of crazy shrooms or the warp or some fun fluffy way to say he is uber BA therefor buffer and stronger, as an explination for his stat line?
then you have a blackorc, who is a gobbo model
Still would be illegal on a gobbo base, though.
I've had my Black Orc Big Boss join a group of Night Gobbos and it seemed to work out pretty well. They meat-shielded him well and got to use his leadership which is a lot higher.
I agree with the others who said that a lot of folks don't do it because it doesn't fit well into movement trays. I had to use a "custom" tray out of cardboard for this setup.
Well it would be understood he could NOT be on anything BUT the Orc size base, but if you mod and kit him out in model well enough I am sure you could make a fairly boss looking Black Gobbo... and it wouldn't be illegal to my knowledge, unless you use non GW bits as the primary pieces (example being you could not use one of the Gobbo Samurai from the Rackham line).