Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Waaagh! to all fellow green skinned Warbosses.
I have a question which I cannot find an answer to anywhere, and am desperately seeking some answers! My question concerns Skarsnik and Gobbla and in particular how they "fit" into the ranks and files of a unit of Night Goblins (or anything else for that matter).
For those who are not aware of the size of the base for the most recent model of Skarsnik and Gobbla, it is 60mm wide, by 40 mm deep. In other words it is 3 Night Goblins wide by 2 Night Goblins deep. If you were to place Skarsnik and Gobbla in a unit of say 30 Night Goblins arranged with 6 files and 5 ranks, the addition of Skarsnik and Gobbla would consume an area of 36 bases, thus you could make 6 files and 6 ranks.
Now, to me, this seems wrong, as Skarsnik and Gobbla are after all on a single base. The special rule "Gobbla the Cave Squig" states that Skarsnik and Gobbla are treated as a single model occupying a single base and that is reflected in the stat line for the two where the wounds are combined.
To add to my confusion it is stated that Skarsnik and Gobbla have a unit size of 3! Is there are rule regarding unit sizes and ranks?
Finally I cannot find anything anywhere in the rule book or FAQs and erratas that deals with this subject.
Please could someone shed some light on this for me ... please ... ?
Last edited by mattapplegate; May 14th, 2008 at 19:34.
For ranks, I say they are counted for as many night goblin spaces they take up, like a Slann for example.
But for unit strength count the model as US3 not 6
For the sake of brevity let me define a term (in order to make my summary, a summary and not a litany!)
A misfit character is a character who has a different size base than the bases of the rank and file models of the unit the character is in.
From my understanding, having read other threads on the same subjects, unless there are particular rules for a misfit character, it is up to the players to decide how the number of ranks of the unit is calculated. It is therefore best to discuss this before commencing battle in order to prevent fisticuffs and handbags; dice are the weapon of choice here.
To me however, I would always err on using the rule that, for the purposes of calculating the number of ranks in a unit containing a misfit character, then the area of the base of the misfit character is treated as if was occupied by the same number of rank and file models, if and only if the misfit character's base is a multiple of the width of the base of a rank and file model's base AND the misfit character's base is a multiple of the depth of the base of a rank and file model's base.
e.g. Skarsnik counts as 6 Goblins (3 wide, 2 deep).
Otherwise, if the misfit character's base is not a multiple of the width of the base of a rank and file model's base OR the misfit character's base is a not multiple of the depth of the base of a rank and file model's base then it just counts as 1 rank and file model.
e.g. An Orc Warboss counts as 1 Goblin.
I think this will keep the game tidy, and will stop both weirdly aligned units, and units that even though they have a particular formation don't. It will also help keep movement trays in sane shapes.
What does everyone think?
Last edited by mattapplegate; May 20th, 2008 at 21:56. Reason: Typo