Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Whilst looking at my rule book, and then my O n G book, I started to cackle insanely. People were moaning about how hard the new Vampire characters are, and how hard you can make their heroes and lords.
I have the end to that problem. And Orc and Goblin Tag Team.
This tactic is made the more useful if you can throw the itty ring someplace else in your list.
You need an Black Orc Warboss with battle axe of the last waaagh.
Next you need the goblin the the item that takes their ward save away from them in base to base contact.
The third thing you need is a huuuge unit of whatever suits you best. Goblins will be the most convenient as they are cheap, but if you can get a large unit of orcs in there, that also works.
Then you pick yourself a target character. Deploy your unit one Orc wider than the target unit. Most the time this will be six wide.
Place your Orc lord in the conrer and sit the goblin right next to him.
If you can get rid of the unit champ that is excellent. but it doesnt really matter.
Charge the target unit, call Waagh if need be. what is important is that your orc only contacts the corner of the unit .
Challenge with the Orc. The character then has to move in the unit in b2b contact with the orc. Which will be in corner to corner to each other. This then means that he is on the recieving end of many high strength attacks, and can make no ward save because of the goblin that he is also in b2b with. With even average rolls, most characters shouldnt last more than one challenge.
Its worked wonders so far.
What do you think?
Last edited by thewaspboy; May 23rd, 2008 at 23:38.
Only possible problem is that i don't think that Characters in a challenge count as being in base to base with anything but the opposing Challenger. So the Corner to Corner Ward denial from the ring wont work.
Another few flaws are: that your unit must touch as many models in his unit as it can, This wastes a Lord and a Hero choice, which are both more valuable elsewhere in a Orc & Goblin army, and the previous comment, sure you can present that arguement, but because the actual rule for it is shady, someone may be very difficult and argue about it (which is in their best interest) and that sucks the fun out of the GAME.
This tactic is easily put to shame by the fact that most people would have a lord thats more mobile than orcs on foot, a unit with a Lord and a Hero would be a lot of the army's hitting power and can be avoided until they can flank charge you or outnumber with fear causing, you name it.
Good try though.
Last edited by Ready4anything; May 26th, 2008 at 05:28.
So you need a block containing two of your characters, big enough to still have full rank bonus when it gets to combat, to get the charge on a unit containing the enemy general, that also has no champion alive? That sounds like an awful tall order to base your army around! Especially considering how important it is to have your own general at the right place in the battle line against a fear causing opponent.
Arnt orks on bigger baces to goblins anyway? Can a ork join o gobbo unit or visa versa i think the hole tag team thing may be ileagle in more than 1 way
Your tactic would work better if you did not issue a challenge.
Most people will have a champion to accept challenges if they think they may lose a challenge with their character. What you need to do is make sure that your Goblin character with Tricksy Trinket (No ward save) and your Black Orc character are in base to base contact with your enemies character. Thus placing them in the centre of your own unit will give you the best possibility of this as most people put characters centrally. But come deployment position your characters as needed.
Referring to page 75 of the Battle for Skull Pass rule book, section Dividing Attacks, it is possible for characters to divide their attacks against all models in base to base contact. Thus you can attack an enemy character in base contact without issuing a challenge. You would only want to issue a challenge if you are not in base to base contact. Tricksy Trinket would still work if you issue a challenge, so long as your Goblin is in base to base contact with the enemy character after moving to fight the challenge.
Personally I would not give Battle Axe of the Last Waaagh as it is way too expensive for at most +3 attacks. I would keep Armed to da Teef and get Bigged's Kicking Boots (+2 attacks with Armed to da Teef) or Warboss Imbad's Iron Gnashas (+1 Attack with armed to da Teef and Killing Blow). If you throw Spiteful Shield in there too, if it goes wrong and you get attacked back, it might just go horrilbly right (no ward save)!
I think what you are trying to do is called clipping. Please note that it is the obligation of the the charger to bring as many models into the fight as possible (see page 21 - Manoeuvring During a Charge).
Last edited by mattapplegate; May 26th, 2008 at 19:14.
E E E E E
........O G F F F F
By the way, clipping is discussed in the errata for the most recent edition of Warhammer here:
What would work better is
E E E E E
F F O G F F
as with your characters in a cetral position you are more likely to be able to attack enemy characters without having to issue a challenge.
Last edited by mattapplegate; May 26th, 2008 at 22:01.
The point of putting the Lord on the corner is so that the only legal place for the challenged model to stand is in contact with the goblin. The whole thing seems way over-thought and relies on killing the target on the charge. A Vampire Lord built for combat will tear a Black Ork Warboss to shreds when going in initiative order, and a Vampire built for magic can be easily killed by the same without all the shenanigans and hoping your opponent falls for a specific perfectly orchestrated charge. (Not to mention the horrible horrible things that will happen to your WarBoss's spiffy axe if your unit gets flanked in the opponent's turn after you slaughter the unit champion....)