Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can different NG shamans take more than one magic mushroom?? or is it only one NG shaman that can have loads of mushrooms, and your other NG shamans have a max. of one.
I've always thought the mushrooms were like scrolls where you can take as many as you want. But someone pointed out the wording to me.....
Here's the quote from the book ...... "A shaman may carry any number of Magic Mushrooms, up to his maximum allowance for magic items. Buying one or more Magic Mushrooms does not count as taking an arcane item."
He said, because it says "a shaman" and not shamans it means only one NG
What do you think???
I would say certainly yes. As you are allowed to take more than one mushroom for any given shaman, the rule for having only one of any magic item obviously doesn't apply. Therefore the mushroom, in my mind, occupies the same spot as a power stone or dispel scroll.
Yes that's what i think as well.
If you use the same logic as that mushroom quote, it says on page 121 BRB.....
.... "Only a wizard can carry an arcane item" meaning only one wizard in your army can carry an arcane item.
and also ..... "there's no limit to the number of scrolls a wizard can carry" meaning if one wizard has multiple scrolls the others can have a max. of one.
Which is just wrong. I think it's just poorly written in the O&G book. The only reason he came up with this is because it says "a shaman" (singular, not plural)
So i think mushrooms can be distributed the same as scrolls
I'm in accord with everyone else, I often take multiple MM on multiple shamans and no-one ever bats an eyelid.
http://www.armyroster.com Check out my ToP WIP in the projects section!
Yes same here AE, but this is the quote they wrote.......
page 120 in the rulebook:
No specific magic item can be carried by more than one model in the army. Scrolls are an exception to this.
Page 122 Power stone.
In a similar way to scroll, power stones are noy unique items.... It is therefore posible for several wizards to carry power stones.
So only one NG with mushrooms. It only says it don´t count as a arcane item
Certainly, it never says specifically that any number of shamans can take any number of mushrooms, but the fact that even one shaman is allowed to take multiples seems to very obviously negate the rule against multiples of the same item in an army. In short, since many can be taken by any given shaman, Magic Mushrooms are not unique items.
The issue is whether more than one NG shaman may take mushrooms.
With the quote from the O&G book both the noun and the indefinite article are singular. Someone else has pointed this out to me, and i must admit he has a point. (unfortunately)
I think it's simply a poorly constructed sentence in the O&G book.
If they had written "Shamans may carry..." instead of "A shaman may carry.." then the noun would be plural, and there would be no issue at all.
I hope it is just a mistake, because i'm a big fan of using NG shamans with plenty of mushrooms
I think i might try and find another sentence in the BRB that has the same mistake as the mushroom quote....
Last edited by waylander2; December 7th, 2008 at 19:13.
I understand what the issue is, but in this case the exact structure of the sentence makes absolutely no difference. An item which is not unique, as we have established, has no restrictions on who can take it or how many can be taken. Full stop.
I see the point that this person is trying to make, but it's a tremendously feeble one. One could just as easily take the sentence "A shaman may carry any number of Magic Mushrooms, up to his maximum allowance for magic items" in exactly the same manner I've written this sentence - notice the "One could...". Just because I'm specifically referring to a single person doesn't mean that it's meant for only one specific person and no others. Perhaps GW could have made the wording a little more clear, but in this case this person who pointed it out to you is either just messing with you, grasping for an advantage over you in a game, or is rules-lawyering like only tabletop (and P&P) gamers can.
Yes i think you're right. Strange thing is he's an O&G player from another site. I wrote up an army list for O&G, and he pointed out that i couldn't have two NG shamans with mushrooms.
I've just found another sentence in the BRB that can be misconstrued in exactly the same way, and is obviously wrong.
Quote from BRB pg121, concerning arcane items ...."Only a wizard can carry an arcane item"
So if you use the same logic he's come up with, that means only one wizard in your whole army can carry an arcane item. Meaning you can never have more than one arcane item, because only wizards can use them. Which is obviously wrong. So yes, i agree with you, i think he's being far too pedantic. I'd never even thought about it before.
Thanks for the help Fuzzy Wumpus
You know the quote you gave ....."An item which is not unique has no restrictions on who can take it or how many can be taken." could you pass on the page number for that one please? i'll quote that to him, that's a much better case than the one i came up with. Thanks in advance
Last edited by waylander2; December 7th, 2008 at 19:42.
I would love to have multiple shamans carry mushrooms, but I don't. I think it's against the rules, as written, unless GW clarifies it with a new FAQ.
They had the chance to fix it and they didn't, with their FAQ. So unless they change it, it's poorly written enough for me to play it safe and just not use them on multiple characters.
If magic items aren't allowed to be carried by multiple characters (scrolls and powerstones being a SPECIFIC and written exception), and the magic mushroom is a magic item, then I can't give them to more than one shaman.
I would also like to know, Fuzzy Wumpus, where you found that bolded text in the rulebook.
You can do whatever you want, as long as your opponents consent. Most would, in this case. But if I go to a tournament, I would always make sure to have only one character carry mushrooms, because many people will accuse you of cheating or building an illegal list.