Welcome to Librarium Online!
Greetings to all the people in the forum.
In our last practice match, i managed to use a fanatic with great success against a "Hero" unit in a Lizardmen Army. The hero was mounted on a "Cold One" mount and had a (IIRC) 2+ Armour Save and a 5+ ward save. With the Armour Piercing + S5, he had to save SIX wounds at 5+ (armor) and 5+ (ward). He managed to save four wounds and died.
The question is a simple one... Did we played it correctly ? Is there some special rule regarding this scenario ? (Fanatic vs. Mounted Character). The only rule we found was Pg. 31 on the rulebook "Cavalry Casualties" and I think we played it according to that rule. Just wanted to be sure, because I think we'll be seeing this scenario very often
Any comments are welcome. Thanks in advance for your answers.
A hero lizard mounted on a cold one starting with a 2+ save would have his save modified to 5+, followed by his 5+ ward save. A fanatic is strength 5 (-2 save) and armor piercing (further -1 save), for a total of -3 to his regular armor save. Had he failed at least two of the armor/ward saves, all his wounds would have been taken and both he and the cold one would be dead.
Sounds like you played it correctly. However, it went against the odds a little to roll that well with the fanatic. You would have had to roll a 6 for hits, followed by rolling all 3s or better to wound the scar veteran. It's not often that you'll hit 6 times and wound 6 times like that.
Was the character in a unit when you hit him or riding out by himself? Most people hide the heros inside friendly units, so that the fanatic won't damage their expensive characters. If he was out by himself, your friend learned a little lesson about fighting goblins...
Thanks for the answer. I'm happy we played it correctly
I know I got VERY lucky with my fanatic yesterday, but I also know that my friend learned his lesson in the hardest way possible
Since I'm learning the game too, I lost about four games until I FINALLY realized that my general and his shaman friend should ALWAYS be within a unit,..
Thanks for the answer. If someone else has another comment, I'll be happy to read it !
I'll second sephiroth's answer- if he's out of the unit he's a viable target and if his mount has only one wound then it increases his save and all wounds are caused on him, as you played it.
http://www.armyroster.com Check out my ToP WIP in the projects section!