Welcome to Librarium Online!
can a goblin big boss on great cave squig join a unit of squig hoppers?
No, per the rules for the Great Cave Squig.
A character mounted on one may not join units.
As nutty as Squig Hoppers are, I don't think they'd like the idea of letting something with a mouth large enough to swollow them and their squigs whole into their midst.
In my English language book, under special rules, it states "May not join units (Great Cave Squigs only)."
So I take from that that they can't join Hopper units either.
If it says "Great Cave Squigs only" i understand that only the Great Cave Squigs can join that units... no?
i agree with Muette. with out a unit he is too vulnerable to shooting
If the only unit he could join was Squig Hoppers, it would say "May only join Squig Hopper units (Great Cave Squig only)" or "May not join OTHER units (Great Cave Squig only,)" but it doesn't.
It says "May not join units." Period.
The FAQ/Errata doesn't change that.
Sorry if I sound harsh.
Also, your opponent probably won't recognize the threat one presents until it's too late, and will probably focus on your rank and file units instead since they pose a more direct threat than a silly hero hopping around on his own.
My boss on GCS usually gets chewed up the first round by missle fire, but you can throw him at any undead unit and as long as you get the charge, mess'em up good.
Or you can put the Brimstone Baubble (sp?) on him and the One-hit Wunda, for a 100-pointish missle of death. This idea is great for larger games where you have about 100 points left and want to hero hunt a little.
I usually put the bauble and one hit wunda on a gobbo BB on a giant spider, that way his mount can contribute if you're attacking giants or dragons, plus it can move over terrain better, and you don't have to hope you roll a high movement.