Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Quick question. If i charge into the flank of a unit with ranks with 3 chariots, does the unit lose it's rank bonus?
I know you need to be unit strength 5 (and chariots are 4), but do you combine the unit strength of everything?
If three chariots charge a unit in the flank, the unit will indeed lose its rank bonus.
ok, thanks. I was just checking because in the BRB it says. "This bonus (the rank bonus) is lost if the unit is fighting to its flank or rear against an enemy unit with a unit strength of 5 or more."
Because it says an enemy unit ,it implies a single unit has to be US5 or higher, and in my example i used 3 single units.
If you look at the outnumber Enemy section that says "if the combined unit strength of all your units in the combat....."
Just made me think i'd been playing it wrong, but thanks for the confirmation
Last edited by waylander2; January 19th, 2009 at 21:36.
The text says, an enemy unit, because they take the example of a single unit, charging in the flank.
Yes, besides the chariots of Tomb Kings, then chariots are single units. So if a single chariot had charged the unit, they would, correctly, not lose the rank bonus. But since more chariots, or units, have joined the fight, unit strenght is added together.
To give you a reference. Page 38 --> Outnumber Enemy --> 2nd Paragraph.
The unit strenght, per side, of a combat is determined by all the units engaged. As pictured on page 33 --> 33.1 - Examples of Combat
Hope this suffice
lol typical isn't it, i put this question on another forum and got the opposite answer
If you put a big boss into a chariot or an extra orc crew does that effect the US?
Yup. Page 71 --> The First Example
One reply was ........
Different rules for outnumbering and flanking. Outnumbering is the combined US of every model in close combat, flanking is only the US of each individual unit. So in your case, each chariot is a individual unit, and neither of them have US >4 so the don't get any flanking bonus's.
Another reply was ......
Do you combine the unit strength of all your units when you flank attack an enemy?
when determining rank breaking ability: nope
when determining outnumber for combat: yep
It's the same as i wrote earlier, it says combined for outnumbering but not for flanking
Hmm, now that I re-read the rank-bonus section, I might be wrong in my first statement.