Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If Fanatics are released and subsequently killed, but the unit that released them is not damaged enough to earn the opposing player any victory points, does the player earn 25 VP's per fanatic?
As an alternative, say the unit that released the fanatics was completely wiped out, but then fanatics remain on the table til the end of the game. Is the cost of the fanatics removed from the total cost of the unit, or would you just count the entire cost including fanatics regardless of whether they were killed or not?
I've always played it that the fanatics are not worth any victory points if they are killed seperately from the unit, but if the unit of Night Goblins is killed then the entire points cost (including the 25-75 points worth of fanatics) of that unit is counted towards VP's.
For future reference, is this right?
Apologies if the wording is a little confusing, hard to get across what I mean
Only the unit matters. Once the unit is destroyed, VPs are gained for fanatics and unit.
Current painting project: 2300 pts of Dwarfs in 5 weeks.
I figured as much, although any idea where it might confirm that in the army book/rule book? I'll take your word for it anyway but would be nice in case someone doubts it in future.
The confirmation is when you compare them to other unit upgrades. Fanatics are an upgrade to a unit, just like champions. Just because you kill a champ and the unit survives doesn't mean you get points for him. He's tied to the unit
Ah right, that actually makes a lot more sense now when you put it like that. Cheers for that!
just to support Fool's an strats rulings
Do Fanatics count when working out if their unit is below half strength
for assigning victory points?
A. No. Fanatic models are never counted and never assign any victory points
on their own. Only count the number of Night Goblins in the unit. The
points cost of the Fanatics is added to the cost of the unit, in the same
way as other upgrades (like a musician, for example).
S. Official Orcs & Goblins FAQ
Direwolf FAQ is linked on this forum in the "Rules" section
Last edited by Digger; August 26th, 2009 at 21:48.
Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs