Black orc boss on chariot question - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Senior Member DoctorDogmeat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    York/Halifax
    Posts
    1,142
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    120 (x4)

    Black orc boss on chariot question

    Black orc boss on chariot question; Does he auto waaagh if he's not the general, when the general calls the waaagh?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    i am da Wahhchief Digger's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    utrecht, Holland
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,419
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    320 (x8)

    Theres a (another) gap in the rule here.

    if you read it litterally the answer is 'No he does not get an auto 6 roll, unless a black orc on chariot counts as being on his own.'

    So the real question is, does a mounted black orc count as being on his own?


    On the other hand, GW usually tries to be clear in this sort of stuff and if a chariot would fall outside the waaaagh rule, there would have been an explanation He is mounted and the chariot has crew, yatta yatta yatta, but if he wouldn't follow the auto 6 rule, then there would have been an explanation why, or an alternative rule. There isn't.

    even though chariots dont roll animosity, in this case its his mount, and i would find it hard to believe that this is the only black orc that dont gain waaaagh!, without a good explanation in the rules.
    Eternal Newbie

    Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs

  4. #3
    Senior Member DoctorDogmeat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    York/Halifax
    Posts
    1,142
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    120 (x4)

    I checked the last orc FAQ and it doesn't say anything, although is says treat a chariot for a character exactly like a monsterous mount, if that comes any nearer to an answer I don't know.

  5. #4
    Senior Member Akaroth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Age
    25
    Posts
    352
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    47 (x1)

    I'd say yes, in the same way as a character on a wyvern gets an auto 6, the chariot is a 'kind' of monstrous mount in the fact that its a multi-wound mount. Plus its all a single model; to me for a character to be part of a unit, it has to have the option of not being part of the 'unit', and you can't take the character off the chariot. Kind of.
    "Knights had no meaning in this game. This wasn't a game for knights."


  6. #5
    I've had enough! timk1111's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Brisbane, Oz
    Posts
    2,041
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    205 (x7)

    Quote Originally Posted by Akaroth View Post
    I'd say yes, in the same way as a character on a wyvern gets an auto 6, f.
    The only reason the Wyvern usually gets it is becuase the General is riding it.

    The answer is no Doc. Unless he is the General, he has to be on his own, and I think you'd be hard pressed to convince someone he's on his own will he's riding around in a chariot...


  7. #6
    Son of LO ArtificiallyEnhanced's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    My house, the UK
    Posts
    2,490
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    321 (x8)

    I would say yes, its a single, black orc model.
    http://www.armyroster.com Check out my ToP WIP in the projects section!


  8. #7
    I've had enough! timk1111's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Brisbane, Oz
    Posts
    2,041
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    205 (x7)

    Quote Originally Posted by ArtificiallyEnhanced View Post
    I would say yes, its a single, black orc model.
    ...on a Chariot...


  9. #8
    Son of LO ArtificiallyEnhanced's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    My house, the UK
    Posts
    2,490
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    321 (x8)

    But only on the one base. Can the 2 split from each other? No. Therefore it's all part of the black orc and his wargear.
    http://www.armyroster.com Check out my ToP WIP in the projects section!


  10. #9
    Senior Member Akaroth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Age
    25
    Posts
    352
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    47 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by timk1111 View Post
    The only reason the Wyvern usually gets it is becuase the General is riding it.
    So, hypothetically, a black orc character who is riding a wyvern and isn't the general wouldn't waaagh the turn a waaagh is called?
    You can't really class the chariot/wyvern in this case as a unit, it doesn't take up any special slots, and if it's not a unit the warboss can't be part of it, and therefore alone.
    Plus, I think I'm right in saying, a monstrous mount is treated exactly like a normal mount apart from scoring VP separately, no bonus to armour etc. so by extension does a black orc on his own on a boar get to waaagh!, He can't be part of a unit already, because he can still join a unit while on his boar.

    Practically though, if you're opponent disagrees just roll for it when it comes up.
    Last edited by Akaroth; November 3rd, 2009 at 16:13.
    "Knights had no meaning in this game. This wasn't a game for knights."


  11. #10
    I've had enough! timk1111's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Brisbane, Oz
    Posts
    2,041
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    205 (x7)

    Quote Originally Posted by Akaroth View Post
    So, hypothetically, a black orc character who is riding a wyvern and isn't the general wouldn't waaagh the turn a waaagh is called?
    That's what I think.

    Hmmm...re-reading the rule, it's actually the second part that's interesting 'BO characters in units are bound by their unit's test'...dang, it could go either way really...

    But I still think you can't count a character on a Chariot or Wyvern as 'on his own'. Figure it out with your opponent, but thankfully, my list won't have this problem!


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts