Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Yeah, I guess our new book is due out soon, but this came up today,
"Choppas are hand weapons in all respects. They also confer a +1 Str. to models on foot in the 1st rnd. of each combat."
Which means to me, if Orcs charge in or are charged, in say, turn 1 and the combat continues into the latter half of T1 or T2 and beyond, they get that +1 ONLY in the very first rnd. If, in an ongoing combat some other unit joins the fray, the Orcs won't get +1 against them.
Of course, though it seems clear enough that I needn't mention it, I'd assumed that the Orcs would get it in a new combat, that is, enemies fled or destroyed, Orcs get in a new fight, they get that +1 again.
Today I had the situation where Orcs charged my trolls, got held up for a turn, my chariot charged into this ongoing combat and my opponent inisted that his orcs would get +1 str. vs the chariot now which struck me like a bag of nonsense! Any help with this?
Last edited by Palos; February 7th, 2011 at 14:35.
They wouldnt get the strength bonus. The orcs were in combat already with the trolls and the chariot joined this combat, but it was not a new combat so the orcs dont get the +1 S as your opponent claimed.
Warlord Grimtoof Dwarfchewer
check out my WAAAAGH!!! Grimtoof WiP here: http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...-grimtoof.html
I agree with the previous poster.
New combat can only begin for a unit once all other combats have finished and combat only ends when a unit becomes completely disengaged from all enemies.
If a new enemy joins a ready started battle then this does not count as a new combat for those who where already fighting.
If you had been charged by another unit or Orcs, not a chariot, then this new unit would have received the bonus (as it would have been their first round of combat).
The Chariot would never get the bonus in any situation as the +1STR is given to models on foot only.
What you guys are saying is as I thought, but is there somewhere in the book where this is clear? My opponent wanted me to find the section about "units joining new combats," since he was sure this would mention how units can keep certain bonus's or not. I thought the Orc army book is pretty clear about how choppas work, and since it's a rule clearly unique to orcs I don't think checking the main rules is going to help. I think it's a case of his misinterpreting a rule for so long and never being questioned about it, he believes his warped view to be true.
Thanks for the help. >;\
"It is possible that more than two units can become involved in the same close combat" p59
When the chariot joins the combat, there's no such rule that says the orcs join a new combat, the key is that it's still the same combat, with new chargers coming in. In this case only the units that are actually new can claim it to be their first round. - Is the orc unit new in the ongoing combat?
Last edited by Digger; February 7th, 2011 at 15:44. Reason: edit- it's obviously the same as you guys allready said, just thought i'd point out that phrase in the brb...
Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs
Ahh, nice Digger, plus ashen& fixx. It makes sense to me, but not to this regular Orc player. Hopefully this will sway him. And no, the orc unit is not new...
It seems like he follows the old way hatred worked, which was the first round against an enemy. If a new unit joined the fray later then it'd be the first round against that unit and hatred was used again.
That's gone in 8th though and the choppa rule specifically states "first round of each combat". If orcs & trolls fight for several rounds and a chariot then charges in in the 5th round, is it "the first round of the combat"? Of course not. It's still the 5th round. It's just the first round for that chariot. If the chariot wasn't a chariot but a unit of orc boyz with choppa's it'd be the first round of combat for them and they would have the bonus. It only applies to the unit(s) for whom it is the first round of combat, not against units for whom it is the first round.
I wish that Orc guy would come up here to have a Stunty tell him the way his boyz should work!
Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs