Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I've both seen and made a few lists that involve Gorbad and Savage orcs, and have often challenged/been challenged as to whether or not you get as many units of Savage orc bigguns as well.
Theres 2 questions therefore involved: If you take Gorbad, can you take as many savage orc bigguns as you want.
If not, can you still take a unit of savage orc bigguns as well as your infinite normal orc bigguns.
(The rule states orc boyz and orc boar boyz, but they are savage orc boyz and savge orc boar boyz)
Thanks for any replies. Let the conversing begin.
As the rule specifically says Orc Boyz and Orc Boar boyz I would say that it does not include Savage Orc Boyz/Boar Boyz. This would be sticking to the letter of the rule as written.
As for taking one unit of Savage Big Uns alongside your other big uns, thats a tough call, I'm not to sure really but think I would edge towards not being able to take them.
This is another question for the FAQ/Errata
...and if Savage Orcs aren't included in his special rule 'Orcs are da best' then the only way to get Savage Big 'Uns would be if you didn't take any other Big 'Uns (i.e. using your one and only Big 'Un upgrade as per an army without Gorbad).
...but then I'd likely ask GW about this directly tbh
I would have to agree that savage orcs wouldnt count. It specifically says orcs. I see where you are coming from, it would be awesoem to take several savage orc big un units but im pretty sure you cant do that.
And then the fluff/ gorbad story was that he wanted all of the best boys and biggest ones in his army. Although savage orcs are well, savage and have no hygiene nor are they very reliable or smart, so gorbad wouldnt want them. I think that makes sense.i can say that the current gw crew at my place is horrible for this. They dont make gw staff liek they used to... they just get confused and tell me to look in the book...but then I'd likely ask GW about this directly tbh
Warlord Grimtoof Dwarfchewer
check out my WAAAAGH!!! Grimtoof WiP here: http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...-grimtoof.html