Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So I have 3 questions on the Curse of da Bad Moon spell (and general magic to)
#1: So since its a magical vortex the Warhammer rulebook says: "If a magical vortex ever ends its move over a unit, place it 1" beyond the unit in the direction it was moving" In the OnG book it says: "Any model under or passed over by the template is cursed..."
If it never can end its move over a unit, how could any model be under the template?
If the spell is played as said in the warhammer rulebook this one can really be a broken spell combined with the hand of gork, moving the shaman to the flank of an enemy and just let it go through its units one after the other and most likely keep moving the whole way since it will always end up on top of a unit?
#2: If the spell is cast as a boosted spell (with the higher casting value and large round template instead of small one), if not dispeling it at once, does the enemy have to dispel it using the higher casting value when trying to remove it from remains in play? "...but rather the minimum casting value listed in the spell´s description..." My guess would be the lower casting value as if I had not casted it as a boosted spell, am I right?
#3: Also regarding the remains in play section, since the spell is moved randomly it can definatly hit my own troops, but can I then choose to end the spell before resolving the spell effect? I would guess so: "They only come to an end when... chooses to end the spell (which he can do at any time)..."
Thanks for your time
You must chose to end the spell before rolling the dice to see where it moves.
Thanks alot for your answers, will definatly help =)
since I got 2 different answears on the ending the spell, which one is it?
At any time seems to me at any time, therefor even after roll to see where it moves, altough I have no idea =)
I'd say 'stop at any time' and resolving only half the spell are two different things. Note you have allready chosen to roll the dice.
And if you roll the dice then it allready happens. You're allowed to stop the spell but you are not allowed to undo the rolls youve made.
Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs
The way thetopcat says is more of a RAW way, with the Digger/ashen way be a bit more RAI.
I always play the Digger/Ashen way because i think that's more how it should be.
But you should do well to discuss this point with your opponent BEFORE you roll the dice.
'Its better to have a swordmaster and not need her help, then to need her help and not have her'
Byjugo's WIP Thread
Tbh, Byjugo, I don't really get how there can be RAI here... magical vortexes are remains in play spells... remains in play spells can be ended at any time... ergo, magical vortexes can be ended at any time!
Seemed pretty clear cut to me!
I always played the "Digger/Ashen Way" because I thought it was right and never looked up the rules.
Now I did it. And this is a very good example for RAW/RAI:
Only because something sounds clear it doesn´t mean, it is meant that way.
RAW suffers from mistakes by authors. Here he made one.
The rule book errata tells us that we can end vortices only at the beginning of the phase.