Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
so i have a game against dwarfs this weekend , 1000 points one of my 2 main units is : Goblins x 40 , sheilds, full command , nasty sculkers x3 =200 GOBLINS ,GOBLIN BIG BOSS , nasty sculkers . I have never had a chance to use these guys b4 , and i have a few questions. when they pop out they displace rank and file models , by this i assume they can not displace members of the command squad , am i correct ? i plan to put my wizard a NG and my BSB in this unit with the command squad that will take up 5 spots of the front row , so i would need to have ranks at least 8 wide in order to get max benefit from the nasties . , or can they displace the wizard , the musician and the unit banner ? I would prefer to run my unit 5 x 8 deep wide to max out my ranks but 8 wide x 5 deep will do .although 7 x 5 might be smarter now that i am thinking of it as 8 x 5 will leave 1 guy out of the fight as he won't be able to touch another model but 7 wide should work . once they are revealed can they be targeted separately ? or do attacks against them go against the unit ? any advice on using them would be appreciated . thanks ps sory about the way this post looks , i tried correcting it again but it keeps reverting all my changes
Please don't post stats for models or units, this is against LO's rules. Thanks. - Kuffy
Last edited by King Ulrik Flamebeard; June 7th, 2012 at 09:39.
They can replace the wizard and BSB, but not command group. You could have the Gobbos 5x8 and not take Boss, so you'd have place for 3 Skulkers. I never used them, but I heard they're not worth it. Check them out, though, and let know.
A bit late but I found this in the FAQ (Its been a while since I read them)Q: When Nasty Skulkers are revealed in a unit of Goblins, can
they displace anything other than rank and file models to make space
for them? (p44)
A: No, though they will then be able to Make Way if they are
not in base contact with the enemy.
i find the wording for the skulkers to be very convoluted , and the FAQ doesn't answer much . It is entirely possible that I am an idiot however and the rules are crystal clear to everyone but me that may even be likely , lord knows that GW are eloquent masters of the English language as i understand it , skulkers can not displace any member of the unit command group , musician , banner , or unit champ . they can only replace unit rank and file models . so in a unit 5 wide with FC , only 2 skulkers can make it to the front . if there are 2 characters say a BSB and a shaman in the unit they will be in the front line and while skulkers can not displace these models , these models can , if they are not in base contact with an enemy model, make way and allow a skulker to take their place on the front line of the combat , but only if they are not touching another enemy model . something that would be unlikely in a unit 5 wide , more to the point it would be pointless ,as if the model that is making way in not in base contact with an enemy , then there is nothing for the skulker to attack , and thus no reason to have him move to the front rank as he can't attack anything anyway. i think that is how it works . further more the skulkers fallow the rules for characters in the unit , so the enemy must target them in order to destroy them . I am a bit vague on whether they can accept challenges in place of a character . i did take them in my game last weekend , but never got a chance to use them .
When a goblin unit with nasty skukers are revealed, The following happens.
1) they join the unit the same as any characters. (OnG pg 44, Concealed),
a) They "push back" any rank-and-file models, except for command models. (BrB pg 97, Position in the unit)
2) The nasty skukers can then make way since they are characters, if they are no already in base contact with a enemy. (OnG pg 44, troop type). (OnG FAQ). (BrB pg 100, Make Way)
a) When they make way, they may exhange him with rank-and-file including the command group that are in base contact with the enemy. (Brb pg 100, Make Way)
If there are only nasty skukers and 2 other characters in the front rank, The attacker must declare a what model they are attacking. Any over wounds stay with the model they are attacking and do not get passed to the unit.
Since they are characters they can accept and issue challenges. (OnG pg 44, troop type) (BRB pg 102, Issuing a Challenge)