Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If I take the bad moon banner(the banner that make night gobbos stubborn) can I use my general leadership to take the stubborn test? Because in the rule book it say: If a stubborn unit contains characters with higher leadership values than the rank-and-file troops who are themselves stubborn, the character's leadership value can be used to take the test, but it is still subject to the normal modifiers for a break test. Use either the leadership value of the character leading value, depending on which results in higher value for passing a break test.
So if I use my general leadership (an orc big boss in this case) does it mean I can use his leadership because he is not part of the unit. Does it mean I can have a unit of night gobbo with leadership 8 and with a rerolabble stubborn break test?
I THINK that you can use the general's leadership, because he is the general. I don't really have any logic to back this up. The passage you cite would suggest the opposite, by extension. But I think the general is an exception to this rule.
Interesting question, something which seems vaguely defined. Hope that someone with definative knowledge chimes in!
No you cannot. A stubborn unit takes a leadership test unmodified. No negative modifiers for loosing combat, or positive ones such as the general's leadership.
So this mean the Bad Moon Banner is worthless because having night gobbos stubborn at leadership 5 is kinda crappy.
the night gobbo's LD woudnt be as bad if u had a night goblin hero or lord in the unit then it would go up but not by much lol:yes:
please correct me if im wrong
(><)This is Bunny. Copy Bunny and this message into your signature to help him on his way to world Domination!
Thats right as far as I understand it Haydn, if a night goblin unit has a night goblin character in it he is classed as stubborn as well so they can use his leadership. Mind you the leadership of a night goblin general is only 7 anyway so still not great but you will also get a re-roll on the break test as the bad moon banner will have to be on a battle standard bearer anyway.
Helper monkey, bring me beer and donuts
The only problem with having the night goblin lord is that he would take the place of a caster lord in a 2k points game
It does mean you lose your level 4 shaman but you need to weigh up what you need most, if you need a unit that isn't as likely to run away have the lord. If you want magic wizzing around the battle field then take the caster. However for leadership 6 it probably isn't worth taking a battle standard bearer and spending the points on the banner in the first place.
Helper monkey, bring me beer and donuts
well... IMO, night goblins aren't really meant to hold anyway, just to be destructive, numerous, and cowardly.
If you are trying to slow down the rate at which you die, the traditional fanatics/netters approaches would probably be better than trying to get a stubborn banner. Don't you need a BSB for that banner anyway? And wouldn't anything that could panic the unit have no trouble at all killing a night goblin BSB? Seems like the successful uses of the banner would be few and far between, as it is kinda fragile and expensive.
Is there a specific threat you are trying to stubborn against?
so actually you can use a characters Ld and and still be stubborn, IF the character is IN the unit, and a part of stubborn'ness... it states 'the unit' test on its own Ld, and as a joined character also becomes a part of the unit, they can use his Ld.. not the generals, unless his inside the unit...
think of a beast herd... their champions have a ld of 7, while the normal troops have 6.. if they became stubborn, and not were able to use the champions ld, it would be a bit weird imo....
correct my if im... yadr... wrong..