Thinking of Starting WHFB with Goblins... - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    0 Post(s)
    0 Thread(s)

1 (x1)

Thinking of Starting WHFB with Goblins...

So i play WH40k as of now, and before i started playing that i had to choose between fantasy or 40k... i simply chose 40k because more people seemed to play it, and also my brother used to play it and could sell me a small army for cheap. Didn't want to jump into both immediately because a) didn't want to dump collosal amounts of money on the get go and b) starting 2 games at once seemed daunting, and from what i hear, 40k is less daunting to learn the rules as well.

So anyway now i'm back, seriously considering buying battle for skull pass... I always loved goblins, in any fantasy universe, and WH is no different (which made the 40k/FB choice even harder).

So i wanna just ask a few initiation questions...

1) Does the skull pass goblin army work well? ie is it a competent army right out of the box (for it's point range, which is 750 if im not mistaken, but i may be), or will i have to buy some stuffs right off the bat to play with a playable (as in not a throwaway battle type army)? My main concern is fun... don't mind losing, but i don't just want to have the cheapest, flimsiest army either.

2) where to go from there with goblins? ie if i went up to 1000, 1500?

3) i hear goblins/night goblins are FOTM... presumably because of the skull pass deal they got. Is this true? It'd suck to play the fotm army... but i would anyway, i just love goblins that much.

4) at 1000 pts, how big will a goblin army be? I ask because i have the crystal caste battlehive carrying case... not super big.