BFG - one for me? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    84 (x1)

BFG - one for me?

Hello, I'm relatively new to the entire wargaming front, having been enticed in by my dual love of Dawn of War and TBS computer games. I always find myself preferring spaceship games over ground-based ones, and I'm considering, once my current projects have reached a stable equilibrium of playability - that is, at least 1500 points each - starting up a BFG fleet. The problem is, while I've read the "What fleet for me?" text, I still can't decide. Necrons and Orks are right out, as I don't like the cheesiness of the former or the playstyle and models of the latter.

My preference would be having fewer, more specialized and survivable - but not necessarily sturdy - ships that need to collaborate and mutually support one another, and that requires a high degree of strategic and tactical thinking and cunning. Think Tomb Kings crossbred with Eldar from the two major games. I want to face a harsh learning curve that still leaves me to discover clever new tricks and ideas in drips and drabs over the years. If it also allowed me to go off on tangents during games, indulge a few wacky ideas and explore some wild new stratagems without leaving the fleet either overpowered or unable to win those specific games, I'd be in heaven.

What fleets should I consider?
    And what should a very basic, small scale starter list for that/those fleet(s) consist of?

Thank you in advance.