Couple of Rules Questions - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Master of the Ravenwing Anacron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wakefield, UK
    Age
    34
    Posts
    849
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    39 (x2)

    Couple of Rules Questions

    Just started playing this, got a couple of questions after a first game (against a very competitive player - I think 'power gamer' is probably the technical term - whose idea of an introductory game creates a cliff-like learning curve). Ordnance particularly confused me. Correct me if I'm wrong on any of these.

    1. Any ordnance is not limited in the number of turns it can spend flying around, correct? I could launch a wave of fighters to defend my ships on the first turn, fly around my cruisers and then in a later turn choose to attack incoming ordnance. If I have a Mars class battlecruiser, and I Reload Ordnance every turn I could in theory have 12 fighters defending me by turn three.

    2a. Example: the same Mars class battlecruiser as above now has two waves consisting of two fighters each recently launched from it and guarding it. My opponent sends a wave of 4 assault boats at the Mars. It's my turn so I move the ordnance first. Assuming they were in range, I could send one wave of fighters at the assault boats, removing the fighters and two of the assault boats. Or I could send both waves of fighters and remove them all.

    2b. If it was his turn, and he was in range, he could attack my capital ship with his assault boats first and my fighters would not get the opportunity to attack them.

    2c. As another possibility, he may have launched one fighter and three assault boats into this one wave. If I attacked it with two fighters, all three fighter markers and one assault boat marker would be removed.

    3. Brace for Impact: I can use this at any point in the Shooting or Ordnance phases. So I could use it if he just hit my flagship with eight assault boats (but before he rolls for damage, of course).

    All the old Specialist Games resources are currently being uploaded at the Tactical Command forums, and you can find them here: http://www.sg.tacticalwargames.net/fanatic/.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    258
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    27 (x1)

    remember you can only launch as many squadrons as you have bays. otherwise, yes.

    we need to get together for a game sometime...

  4. #3
    Senior Member Djones9916's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    St. Louis
    Age
    32
    Posts
    659
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    80 (x2)

    Been a while since I've played a game, so I'm kinda shooting from the hip on this.

    1. As I understood it, you could never have more ordnance out then you have bays. IE, a Mars could never have more then 4 craft out at a time. Otherwise this would allow for completely brokenness with Chaos massing ungodly huge amounts of assualt boats.

    2A. If his assualt boats are 1 wave, IE, moving as one mass and not spread out, then 1 fighter would wipe out the entire wave.

    2B. Correct

    2C. As I understand it, what I put for 2A would be applicable here as well.

    3. Correct

    Now, I played with a single group that all sat down and analyzed the rules and agreed to it this way. We saw BFG as a pretty ambigous rule set, and I've noticed a lot of people interpret it differently, so my answers might not be what others would provide, or how your group plays it.
    Nights Justice Space Marines
    Eldar Eth Kariel Craftworld
    Spear of Kurnous - High Elf Expeditionary Army

  5. #4
    Member horizon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Age
    38
    Posts
    347
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    110 (x2)

    1. Any ordnance is not limited in the number of turns it can spend flying around, correct? I could launch a wave of fighters to defend my ships on the first turn, fly around my cruisers and then in a later turn choose to attack incoming ordnance. If I have a Mars class battlecruiser, and I Reload Ordnance every turn I could in theory have 12 fighters defending me by turn three.
    No. You may only have as many ordnance in play as you have launch bays in your fleet. So with a single Mars there can never be more then 4 markers in play.

    2a. Example: the same Mars class battlecruiser as above now has two waves consisting of two fighters each recently launched from it and guarding it. My opponent sends a wave of 4 assault boats at the Mars. It's my turn so I move the ordnance first. Assuming they were in range, I could send one wave of fighters at the assault boats, removing the fighters and two of the assault boats. Or I could send both waves of fighters and remove them all.
    Ordnance Markers remove each other on a 1:1 basis. So 1 fighter marker destroys 1 assault boat marker or other fighter marker or bomber marker.

    Note: 1 fighter does remove a whole wave of torps, be they 3 strong or 15 strong.

    2b. If it was his turn, and he was in range, he could attack my capital ship with his assault boats first and my fighters would not get the opportunity to attack them.
    Correct. However if you put your fighters on cap they still intercept when the a-boats attack.

    2c. As another possibility, he may have launched one fighter and three assault boats into this one wave. If I attacked it with two fighters, all three fighter markers and one assault boat marker would be removed.
    No. Your two fighters would only remove two fighter markers.

    3. Brace for Impact: I can use this at any point in the Shooting or Ordnance phases. So I could use it if he just hit my flagship with eight assault boats (but before he rolls for damage, of course).
    You need to call BFI before turrets fire.
    WARP RIFT - The Battlefleet Gothic Online Fanzine
    Download it here:
    http://www.epic40k.co.uk/bfgmag/index.html

  6. #5
    Master of the Ravenwing Anacron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wakefield, UK
    Age
    34
    Posts
    849
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    39 (x2)

    Thanks for the replies, cleared up some issues. I also had a look at the 2007 FAQ that was previously available from the Specialist Games website (don't think it's on the new GW website any more though) which helped a lot.

    One point: both horizon here and the FAQ referred to CAP, which I assume stands for combat air patrol, and sounds like some method of guarding capital ships with launched fighters. Where are the rules for this?
    All the old Specialist Games resources are currently being uploaded at the Tactical Command forums, and you can find them here: http://www.sg.tacticalwargames.net/fanatic/.

  7. #6
    Senior Member Djones9916's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    St. Louis
    Age
    32
    Posts
    659
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    80 (x2)

    CAP rules should be in the book. Basically you stuck a fighter to the base of one of your ships. When the ship moved, your fighter moved with it. Any attack craft that got through would then automatically be taken out by that fighter (Using that 1:1 thing).
    Nights Justice Space Marines
    Eldar Eth Kariel Craftworld
    Spear of Kurnous - High Elf Expeditionary Army

  8. #7
    Master of the Ravenwing Anacron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wakefield, UK
    Age
    34
    Posts
    849
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    39 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Djones9916 View Post
    CAP rules should be in the book.
    Hm, a page reference would be handy because I can't find them anywhere.
    All the old Specialist Games resources are currently being uploaded at the Tactical Command forums, and you can find them here: http://www.sg.tacticalwargames.net/fanatic/.

  9. #8
    Junior Member Mage-Lord Tzal'baran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x0)

    3. While it's true that you can Brace for Impact during any shooting or ordnance phase, it won't actually do anything against assault boats. Also you won't be able to take an order on your turn and your shooting will be halved.

  10. #9
    Ender of Threads Wraith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,306
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    256 (x5)

    Quote Originally Posted by Anacron View Post
    Hm, a page reference would be handy because I can't find them anywhere.
    Not surprising, really - it's not an actual rule in its own right! It's a brief, but important mention in the fighter rules.

    BFG Basic rules, page 29. It's part of the "Vs. Ships" bit right at the end of the "Fighters" entry in the Ordnance phase section.

    "Fighters in base contact with friendly ships may move with them to screen against enemy ordnance. If they do so they cannot then move in the own player's Ordnance phase. Multiple fighters doing so are treated as a wave."
    We've got plenty of youth... How about a fountain of smart?


+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts