Imperial 1000pt Fleet - considering two options - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Imperial 1000pt Fleet - considering two options

So, I'm quite new to BFG, and I'm gonna be playing this weekend. Looking things over and reviewing various tactica, I've come up with two lists:

Fleet Admiral
    Overlord BC with Turret Upgrade
    Dictator CC
    Lunar CC
    Dauntless LC (Torpedo)
    3x Sword FF
    3x Cobra FF

or, the BB version:

Fleet Admiral w/ 1 extra reroll
    Retribution BB
    Dictator CC
    2x Dauntless LC (Torpedo)
    4x Sword FF

The first one, I would run all 4 capitals as one squadron, screen them with the Swords, and sent the Cobras out as a wolf pack.

The second one, I still put the capitals as one squadron, but now I'm unsure if I'd run one screen of 4x swords or 2 of 2xSwords.

And I'm a bit concerned about the fleet admiral... nearly every list I've seen posted on the internet uses him - but is Ld8 enough when you need to reload ordnance? This squadron puts out 24/27 str Torpedo salvo, granted I have to close for it to be effective, but don't you want a better chance for the 2nd (or 3rd) shot? Just asking... I went with the ld 8 because that seemed to be the overwhelming norm.

So thoughts? Which one is better? Or do they both blow?

Thanks.

2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

been getting back into gothic myself recently as my local club has gained a few new players,

first off admiral of some sort is needed in games over 750 points,