Ork Ordinance - possible? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    450 (x8)

Ork Ordinance - possible?

Okay, I'm brand new to BFG and I like the idea of ork pirates (just because, you know, they're ork pirates!) I kind of want to try something different, though, so I was wondering how viable an ordinance heavy ork fleet might be. Reading around the internet I've heard varying opinions on this kind of tactic, ranging from 'it's great' to 'it's absolutely useless and terrible', so I figured a few extra opinions couldn't hurt.

Basically, I'm talking about cramming as many torpedo armed terror ships as possible into a list with the maximum number of warbosses (for getting rerolls on ordinance reloading and the boarding bonuses) and then filling it out with ravagers. On first glance this seems to cover a lot of the things which stick out as ork weaknesses (especially vulnerability to bombers and slow speed/short range weapons) but even with rerolls it seems like leadership could be a problem, so am I setting myself up for more trouble than good? Is this unorky line of thinking doomed to fail, or is there room for an ork strategy which doesn't just rely on getting up in your face with big gunz?