Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
have a bunch of rules questions...thanks for the help
please feel free to corrct me where i am wrong and add in any tips or clarifications
1.once a special orders check is failed, i can no longer try for other ships, correct? does this mean the i cannot go onto "brace for impact" if a check was failed earlier in that turn or previous turn?
2. if a ship uses the come to new heading rule, are they required to move a minimum distance before the 2nd turn or can the make a really sharp turn?
3.can a ship fire at 2 seperate targets in the same fire arc?
4. if a dorsal weapon wants to fire at seprate target in different arc that is farther away, can they do that if the ship passes check?
5.can someone clarify the "splitting fire" paragraph on page 21?
6. is it permissable to use "brace for impact" if you have already used other special order in same turn?
7.if a critical hit is scored on an escort it is destroyed, but since they only have 1 hit point anyway, whats the difference? pg 24
8.if a blast marker is in contact with a ships base in the front, is the shipped slowed on its move for passing through it, or is that only for "floating" blast marks?
9.pg 25 shields under blast marker section, above bold shields section...if a blast marker is in contact with a ship its shields are reduced by 1 per blast, wouldnt they alreday be gone from being hit to cause blast marker? is this just a redundant statement?
10.since blast amrkers cause column shifts, is it ideal to "tag team" a ship from 2 sides...seems like it to me but not sure
11. is it possible to send attack craft over 30 cm in 2 turns? can i send out as many craft per turn as im allowed every turn?
12.are ordnance markers destroyed by moving through blast marker in base contact with ship? if so can i just fly em around to other side if i have movement distance left(not torpedos)?
13.does each bomber squadron roll d6 d6s vs armor?
14. if i have a wave of attack craft of 4 bombers and 2 fighters and an enemy fighter squad hits the marker do i remove 1 fighter squad for each enemy or is whole wave wiped out?
15.what is the purpose of disengaging?
16.what are benefits and cons of combined salvos?
17. what is benefit of using squadrons of cruisers?
18.if you hit an asteroid field, can the damage sustained form these hits cause critical damage rolls to be made?
19.can column shifts cause you to move into the "defences" column?
20.can a ship with 2 gun batteries on port arc, split the fire to hit 2 seperate targets?
thanks for the help
what a long strange trip its been
Yikes! well, i'll try to answer as many of these as best i can.
1) if i'm not mistaken, when you fail a check, you may not take any more checks for it. if you don't check for a special order, it shouldn't matter.
2) they are required to move minimum distance before the turn, i think. not so sure, but i will check.
3) yes, but you have to take a ld check to fire on the one further away. also have to declare how much firepower goes on a certain ship before dice are rolled.
5) you declare how much firepower from a battery you use on each ship before dice are rolled, but after the leadership check required to shoot it.
6) No, but i am not sure
7) some ordinace (assault boats, and some others) cause critical hits without doing actual damage.
you still are slowed. one of the reasons to fire on ships.
9) no, means you gotta move to start getting the benefits of shields again
10) only if you are willing to suffer double the firepower from one ship (both broadsides for him fire).
11)as long as you pass the reload ordinance check for everything, then yes.
12) yes, i think
13) provided that you factor in turrets, yes
14) depends what the fighter craft hits first, but only one marker is removed.
15) for campaigns, or to reduce the points you can lose for hulks/crippling ships. it's a way of asuring victory once you complete the objective, but have to then protect yourself from damage. this is relevant in some scenarios.
16) bonus: much better power in salvo. only one check if against a ship further away.
con: none, also closest ship for one may not be closest ship for another in the salvo.
17) less orders to give overall, so more chance of success.
20) yes, but the power then is absurdly weak.
hope this helps. i'm going on the original rulebook though, and haven't played in a while, so feel free to correct my answers if you got anything.
Yeah, this is excellent! TY Angel of Rust!
Graktoof the vile, victor of 1000 battles, partial credit to 1000 more, and sore loser about the other 8000...
I suggest looking up the rules clarifications on the Games workshop BFG forum. I'm at work so cant access the link, but if someone out there doesnâ€™t post it, I will post tonight. Most of your questions will be answered.
Skimming your answers, they look right except for #11:At any time, the maximum number of launched ships cannot exceed the total number of launch bays in your fleet. So you can't launch a full load of fighters or bombers every turn unless the previous launch has been destroyed. That was GW's answer to ordnance-heavy fleets staying back and massing huge waves of bombers before attacking. Kinda makes carriers a lot less useful in my opinion, but I never liked them much in the first place. Page 44 of the 2002 Annual details this. It's still technically experimental, but it's basically official. I've never seen anyone play with the old version of the ordnance rules since this one came out, at least.11. is it possible to send attack craft over 30 cm in 2 turns? can i send out as many craft per turn as im allowed every turn?
so if i have 2 ships that total 10 bays, can i send 6 out from 1 on turn 1 and four more out from same ship if all six are still alive in 2nd turn, or can each ship only have out as many as they have bays?
does that rule also apply to torpedos? if only a few hit from a salvo and the others are cruising off into empty space, does that prevent me from firing another batch?
what a long strange trip its been
That's the experimental rules on Ordnance I was referring to. Hope that's clear enough (taken right out of the FAQ isitused posted a link to, btw).Experimental Ordnance Rules
Â· When attempting to reload ordnance, ordnance no longer runs out on a double. However, except where specifically annotated on a fleet list, no more attack craft can be in play than the fleet has available launch bays. This must take into account ships that reduce their number of bays from being crippled or suffer critical damage.
Â· If a carrier is crippled, lost in battle or suffers un-repaired critical damage when attack craft are still in play, that player may not launch additional attack craft until the number in play is less than the reduced number of available launch bays.
Â· When declaring ordnance before the shooting phase, attack craft can be removed from play and changed out by different attack craft set on the launching carrierâ€™s base.
Â· The maximum size of a given wave cannot be larger than the numbers of launch bays on the launching carrier (or number of carriers in base-to-base contact).
Â· Ships with random bays (such as Orks) may count maximum number of bays to determine number of attack craft that can be in play.
To clarify:9.pg 25 shields under blast marker section, above bold shields section...if a blast marker is in contact with a ship its shields are reduced by 1 per blast, wouldnt they alreday be gone from being hit to cause blast marker? is this just a redundant statement?
It's not the hit which takes down the shield, but a hit against a shield causes a blast marker, and that blast marker takes down one shield.