Welcome to Librarium Online!
Just need a rules clarification here really. Lets say that you attempt to Lock On in your turn, but fail your leadership test. Does this mean that in your opponant's next shooting phase you cannot attempt to Brace for Impact? This makes Locking On awefully risky.
The rules themselves state that if a command check is failed, no more special orders may be attempted that turn, but does that mean just your turn, and your turn and your opponant's next turn. Does your opponant's next turn count as a separate turn?
Let Victory Be My Wine
Without Death, Pain loses all relevence
Without Pain, Death loses all relevence
"Is there anything you dont know about 40K ???" - Friend
"Well, I still haven't worked out where Termies keep their spare ammo..." - Me
I agree that you can take the BFI check regardless of passing or failing other orders during your own phase of the turn. But as Will said, if your opponent disagrees it's best to roll for a solution than to argue about it.
The way that my GW employees taught me was this:
Whenever your opponent declares that he is shooting at one of your ships, you may brace for impact after he declares, but before he shoots (even if you have previously failed a command check during that turn). If you fail the command check for your BFI roll, then you do not get to brace for that volley from your opponent. However, if your opponent declares that he is going to shoot at the same ship with another volley, you may once against attempt to brace for impact after he declares, but before he shoots. BRI is the only roll you may attempt even if you have already failed a command check, or were already on special orders during your turn.
I realize that GW employees arent perfect, but thats how they play it, and also how a gaming club I played with at Atlanta Gamesday '05 played it too.
My 40K Armies:
- Thousand Sons
- Mordian Imperial Guard
- Dark Eldar
My Fantasy Armies:
- Lhamian Vampire Counts
Neferate is right, brace for impact is completely independant of your previous turn. You can attempt to brace against every single attack that comes your way, but once you pass you don't come off until the end of your next turn.
Its also worth pointing out that if you lock on and then get pwned to the face by enemy bombers in your turn's ordanance phase you can still brace against them.
Never thought I'd see the day when there'd be such a rules debate over BFG. And this is minor compared to the core 40k boards.