Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I played against a guy last night and we switched fleets. He played my Tau and I played his Imperial fleet. He said he went through the rules and as far as he could tell he couldn't see any reason why the Tau couldn't use these special missiles. So as the battle raged I was getting hit with Melta missiles, Vortex missiles and what not. I was catching fire and having critical damage thrown at me.
Can he do that? And if so where in the rules does it say that? I don't have the Armada book but I can sections of it at the Specials Games site.
The answer to this question is no, the Tau cannot use any of the special missile refits found in the armada suppliment.
If you read the above PDF (scroll to almost the bottom for the torpedo rules - in appendix 1), you will see that it says that the Tau cannot use any of the special torpedoes at all.
Hope I helped,
Armada, Page 156, Col 2. Paragraph 1, Sentence 5:
"The Tau, who already use their own favoured combination of guided missiles may not use the special torpedo rules at all."