Frenzy question - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Frenzy question

  1. #1
    Senior Member joebloggs1987's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    Frenzy question

    I am paying skaven in a campaign (currently with a warband rating of 600 ) .

    The last game i played, i had a bit of an argument with a friend about the ruling of frenzy.

    One of my verminkin got lads got talent a while ago, and on one of his injuries he got frenzy. The ruling looked fairly simple to me, but he tried to use it against me.

    The way i read the rule is that if there is an enemy model within charge range, then i have to charge with him. If there is no enemy model within range though, i can move him however i wish.

    The verminkin has sprint and M5, making his total charge distance 15".

    He was sitting roughly 15" away at my guess, and i said to him "im going to see if my model has to make a compolsury charge, or if i can move him how i wish". After measuring the distance and seeing that he was 2" out of charge range, he said "thats a failed charge, he only moves 5".

    After a few minutes of arguing, we called a third opinion, and the result that he came up with was that no matter how far from the enemy i am, i ALWAYS have to charge, and if its not within range then its a failed charge and i can only move 5".

    Now to me that sounds stupid. Their explanation was that frenzy was ment to be a bad thing and not a good thing.

    If i am roughly around charge distance, how am i supposed to know if i am supposed to make a compulsory charge or not without measuring it?
    And am i making compulsory failed 5" charges every turn even if im 48" from an enemy?

    Help me please!


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Banned ArchonFarseerGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Jafaland, New Zealand
    Age
    25
    Posts
    4,252
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    458 (x8)

    I was under the impression that you had to measure if you were unsure :/- I could be wrong though.

    -AFG//

  4. #3
    Wolf Scout Meltagunner Wulfbanes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Age
    26
    Posts
    822
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    49 (x2)

    He was absolutely wrong the first time as well.

    Here's how it goes: "You have to charge, when in range."
    Note: In range is defined as the range you can charge, so 15".


    Step 1: If you and your fellow players are unsure wether your model is within 15", you will measure to the closest enemy model.
    Note: Distance travelled up or down is counted as well. This should be done by drawing a line directly to the model (so one point at your model's base, the other at the enemy model's base.
    Note 2: Hidden models do not count for this purpose.

    Step 2a: If that model is within 15" you will charge it.
    Note: You can still get a failed charge at this stage, by, for example, having to cross difficult terrain, etc, which will modify movement.

    Step 2b: If that model is outside of your 15", it is not within charge range and your model does not have to follow the compulsory charge.

    So if you measure, because you think it's out of range, or measure because you think it's in range, it doesn't matter. Only when it is IN range you will make the charge and else you get to move the model as you wish, even though you measured distance.

    Try to see Frenzy as an obligatory test which decides if you can move the model normally, or have to charge. Technically, you should've been checking every turn if he's in range. If we weren't able to guess distances we would do so, but we don't to speed up the game, etc.
    Getting Help = Giving Rep

    Space Wolves 5th edition:
    W13, L2, D2

  5. #4
    Nightlord frozencore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1,795
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    255 (x6)

    You got cheated, frenzied characters only have to charge if they are within charge range. So unless you specifically said "I am declaring a charge with this character" then it is not a failed charge. Since I believe you were only checking to see if you were forced to charge then it is not a failed charge. In a way a frenzied character can never fail a charge, as long as you don't ever declare a charge.
    Last edited by frozencore; November 15th, 2008 at 09:31.

  6. #5
    Senior Member joebloggs1987's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    I let my play group know, and they dont think that frenzy is fair. They think it should be a bad thing.

  7. #6
    Nightlord frozencore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1,795
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    255 (x6)

    It isn't a bad thing, its a double edged thing. You have to charge, but you get a bonus. Where does it say it has to be bad? It is the same way it works in regular warhammer.

  8. #7
    Senior Member joebloggs1987's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    They presumed it was a bad thing because you get it from an injury, with a 50:50 chance between frenzy and stupidity.

  9. #8
    Nightlord frozencore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1,795
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    255 (x6)

    I understand why, it was a rhetorical question.

    Not everything on the injury chart is bad, there are a few good things on there too. The game (and especially specialist games like mordheim, necromunda, and BFG) is all about having fun. So your guy gets a hit on the head and winds up a foaming-at-the-mouth psychopath, that is hilarious. Just roll with it and enjoy whatever wackiness ensues.
    Last edited by frozencore; November 16th, 2008 at 10:38.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts