Overclocking 486dx2/80 And 486dx4/100 - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    85 (x4)

Well, at work I have access to a crappy-crap EISA motherboard mounting a 486DX2-80 processor, and as it is pretty much useless, asked my boss if he would allow me to try overclocking it. He agreed.

So, I think I might use it as a testing ground before I try overclocking my personal 486DX4-100 in order to gain a better performance.

Has any of the folk here tried overclocking such old hardware? Could you give me any advice?

:blush: Yes, I am an absolute overclocking noob... but I want to improve...

2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Try having a look at this, you might find it useful...

http://totl.net/Eunuch/Eunuch2.html
    I live in your eyes

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

What is your goal in overclocking this thing?

It has been a loooooooooonnnnnnnnnnnnnggggggggggg time since I worked on anything anywhere near the age of this thing, so I would have to do some digging and stuff to remember if and how these are overclockable.

In general, though, if you can change the clock speed, you are probably going to be looking at using jumpers. Take a look at the board, and see if you can adjust the system speed or the multiplier. Like I said, it has been a long time...

Honestly, if you want to try your hand at overclocking, I would recomend something a bit newer, as for numerous reasons it will be much more...overclocking friendly.