Blood Angels Terminator Captain, Advice wanted (Pic Heavy) - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Hi, whenever i'm painting models I always try to get them to a good standard with high lights, shading etc even on a bog standard troop. When ever I get to a hero model I always spend that extra time to make it stand out from the army, seeing as they are the most important. I've recently started up a Blood Angels army and i've come to painting the commander, but I want to make it even better than I ever have before and i'm interested in spending a lot of time on it. By no way am i saying i'm a pro painter! I just like to put a lot of effort and time into my models What i was hoping was that you guys could give me some advice on how to make it even better.
    Currently the things i'm worried about with this model are:
    The power armour: At the moment it just looks flat and boring, I have added shading with some brown ink washes, but it just looks plain.
    The robe: I have no idea how to paint this! I'm stuck on what colours to use and how to do it, as with my previous experience of a robe it turned out awful.
    The Sword and Storm Bolter: Sorry to have to use this word again, but they just look plain. The gold on the eagle hasn't turned out as good as it could be as i'm having trouble with the high lights on it. I painted it with shining gold, then i gave it a brown inkwash but when i tried to highlight the gold after it just turned out to be a mess covering up all of the ink. The sword needs some flare adding to it but I can't pinpoint it.